Calling all Milton Keynes residents

Associate
Hey all

Just put down a deposit for a house in MK. Very suprised to learn that its not a digital area, WTF is with that? I live in Luton at the mo which has got to be one of the biggest holes in the country, and I can get 50mb broadband here, yet 20 miles up the road, in a much nicer, more technologically and commercially advanced area I am told I will be lucky to get 2mb...

I am quite frankly disgusted by this, and pretty gutting I am going to either have to put up with it, or lose a deposit and find somewhere else to live (pretty drastic, but i am a web dev by profession and good net is pretty important to me).

What do current MK residents do, is there any kind of active campaign (see a few where last activity is 2007 ish) which would petition Virgin Media into sorting this mess out? The guy I spoke to on the phone there seemed to think VM were now going to be laying cable at new locations (something they apparently haven't done in 7 odd years), but no news to where this would be happening or when.

Any ideas? The thought of going back to less than 2mb fills me with all sorts of dread, and feels like going back in time half a decade or so

Soldato
Yeah Milton Keynes is a bit dissapointing for broadband, that said its not as bad as you've been told, it really depends on what your local exchange will be. At the moment Im on the south east, and miles from the exchange with no LLU option, however the wolverton exchange for example covering some of the north side of MK is LLU enabled and offering 'upto16mb' packages :)

Find out where you're going, and what the exchange that area connects to is going to be.

Virgin media/NTL haven't been laying cable for ages; and tbh with thier policies, the 50meg line really is anything but, going from the average comments, a decent 8-16meg line shouldnt be an issue for any legal usage :)