Stopping the use of USB drives

Soldato
I do in our place, can be done via GP, I import a .reg file that disables the usb Store so any usb devices inserted are not detected...

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBSTOR]
"Start"=dword:00000004

Last edited:
Associate
If you are running a Domain Controller and have your computers joined to it.

There are options using GPO to allow or deny USB access depending on the user or group.

I work in a school - and we have it set so staff can access usb but students cannot. :D

RSR

RSR

Soldato
We block USB sticks, they can be blocked via GPOs as above. However, we block ours via our AV.

Andy

Ev0

Ev0

Soldato
We use a paid up product that allows monitoring and control of USB devices, but as said it costs :)

Caporegime
If you are running a Domain Controller and have your computers joined to it.

There are options using GPO to allow or deny USB access depending on the user or group.

I work in a school - and we have it set so staff can access usb but students cannot. :D
Hmm interesting. Is there anyway to disable usb storage devices, but allow mobile devices to connect via activesync?

Associate
I would guess if the mobile devices can sync without mapping a drive then yes they should work ok.

It doesnt stop any USB working - it just makes it so when a usb storage device is plugged in you cant see the drive it creates :D

Soldato
I wish I could find a product that works in Citrix/TS environments properly :(

You can. We use GPO on all our machines. We basically remove drive letters. We basically allow C: and the network drives, nothing else.

Then we have policies to allow use of the cd drive in laptops for instance

Kimbie

Associate
We use a paid up product that allows monitoring and control of USB devices, but as said it costs :)