Help me choose a car for work please.

Associate
Hey everyone.

Im in need of a car for work.. I'm a letting agent and just sold of my 2001 Golf Gti turbo because the fuel bills were getting a bit much.

I have about £3500 to spend. The car doesnt have to be super fuel efficient, just better than the golf, I was getting on average around 22mpg around town with that. No Older than 2002 and something that look nice aswell would be a bonus..

So far I've been considering:
Yaris T-Sport - I know a lot of people dont like these, but I really do like the exterior looks.
Ford Fiesta Zetec - although it looks like decent ones will be above my budget.
Clio 172 - I know its not economical, but they're so cheap to buy now and must surely be better than the golf on fuel, as there's no turbo. However I was concerned about the reliability of these??

I'm open any suggestions and any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Caporegime
Im in need of a car for work.. I'm a letting agent and just sold of my 2001 Golf Gti turbo because the fuel bills were getting a bit much.

I have about £3500 to spend. The car doesnt have to be super fuel efficient, just better than the golf, I was getting on average around 22mpg around town with that. No Older than 2002 and something that look nice aswell would be a bonus..

You must have been driving it like you were on fire, or as if the throttle was an on/off device.

No way does a 150PS 1.8T only average 22mpg with even remotely careful driving.

This sounds like a classic case of change your driving style rather than change your car, but you already appeared to have jumped ship.

Man of Honour
No way does a 150PS 1.8T only average 22mpg with even remotely careful driving