[PHP] Is this possible?

Associate
Im currently thinking about creating a piece of software that will need a Client<->Server<->Client connection, but instead of creating the server software from scratch I was wondering if it would be possible to have it running off a php server.

I'm quite new to the world of php and dont quite understand it's full capabilities yet. All i have created so far are pages that are generated by php from accessing my SQL databases and also html page requests.

What im wondering is, is it possible to have a client<->client connection through some kind of php software, or have it so that when a client sends a request to a page there will also be a response sent to another client.

Im pretty sure this isn't possible, and both clients will just have to keep querying a page to check for any updates since i have no idea how a client could recieve a response without a request in web terms, but i thought i would ask the question none the less. :)

Associate
Are your clients going to be web based? Or will they be desktop/mobile clients?

If they're web based, look up Comet. It's basically a form of Ajax where the client queries the server, but the server keeps the connection open until there's something to report.

The other option is to use Flash since that can do client-client polling.

Edit: If it is a desktop/mobile client I suppose the Comet principle could still apply. Client makes the HTTP request, server responds, but doesn't close the connection. When there's data, it sends it and closes the connection. The client then makes a new request ready for more data.

Last edited:
Associate
Yes in a sense you could, you would need identifying variables, what exactly are you trying to do.

Associate
OP
Firstly, thanks for the replies.