A good place to work part-time temporarily?

Associate
I graduated from university last summer and I am currently looking for a 'proper job' in Asset Management in London. The process for all the banks I'm applying to will take several months and any job offers are likely to be for a training programme starting around September.

I would like to fill the time before then doing some sort of job, in any sector really, but would like to hear some suggestions of what sort of thing might be good. Ideally the hours would be flexible so I could work as often or as infrequently as I like so that it fits around other commitments (like job interviews). I've got 3 years bar work experience so could probably walk into a job doing that but I'd be more keen to do something else if possible. I live in central London so I would have thought that pretty much anything is available.

What part-time/temporary jobs have you guys done in the past? I would love to hear some suggestions of jobs that were vaguely interesting to do, or ones that should be avoided at all costs.

Associate
If you can get to Slough (number 81 bus from somewhere near hounslow took me there seven years ago) then you could be a 360 game tester for Microsoft.

Pay is shambolic, and the place is too, but its testing games ;)

I think VMC Europe still has the contract for hiring.

Before getting into the games industry, I was a rollerblading waiter (to answer your lst paragraph) on shaftesbury avenue. I don't think there is a smiley that could accureately convey the emotions I feel about that :)

Soldato
In before Mc Donalds appears

You get to create your own Hybid lunch :)