Self employed people. How do you deal with Wives/Girlfriends?

Soldato
As above really!

It is well known that Long term self employed people tend to end up with serious conflict between business and personal life.

I know that I fall into this category :(.

How do other people who might be in a similar position deal with it or find a workable solution?

Soldato
Personally I just remember I work to live not live to work.

I'm not saying I'm perfect in this regard as I'm forever up late 'being creative' while the ideas are flowing (I'm a designer) but I also allow myself 'time off' as long as I can complete work for deadlines, think of it like flexi-time in a company job.

I also know when not to work because I know I'll end up spending more time twiddling my thumbs than doing work, sometimes it's just better to not do work than force it.

I always try to make time each day/week to spend with important people, it may just be a meal every day or similar but little things like that make a difference.

Caporegime
Be alpha, set boundaries and don't move them.

9tBiycN.jpg

OP, I wouldn't limit what you describe to only self-employed folks but I know what you mean. I think most people realise that there's no full stop at the beginning or the end of the day when we go from HOME stuff to WORK stuff and back again. It's degrees of the same thing, isn't it?

Soldato
Stay single. It's a wise buisness move as you'll have more money to spend yourself. At least that's what I keep telling myself :D.

Soldato
So far my marriage and my relationship with my children on the back of my self employment has been a mixed bag. Both positive and negative.

The positive difference is the day to day flexibility. I am not tied down to a colleague's perception of when and where I should be at any time. My time is driven by my clients and fortunately most of my work can take place on my mobile and my laptop/tablet without the need of necesarily spending 12 hours a day in my office.