Memory issues with 3700X on ASRock B450 Fatal1ty Gaming-ITX/ac

Associate
Hi,

I've been building PCs for myself and others on and off for the past 20 years, and used to haunt these forums 10-15 years ago, but am a bit rusty as have been using Macs for a while, and never really ventured much into overclocking or memory timings etc.

Anyway, I built myself a cheap Ryzen 5 2600 based mini-ITX gaming PC in February this year without problem, but decided to upgrade it to a Ryzen 7 3700X based system for gaming, graphics and amateur video production (instead of go for a ridiculously expensive new iMac).

I replaced the BioStar A320 mobo with an ASRock B450 Fatal1ty Gaming-ITX/ac board, and my hot'n'noisy ASUS Radeon RX580 for a cool'n'quiet MSI Geforce GamingX 1660. I also replaced my main SATA SSD with a lovely fast Corsair MP150 NVMe.

It was all working okay with my 'old' 16gb HyperX 2666MHz RAM, but I decided to upgrade that to some fancypants Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB (2x8GB) 3200MHz.

At first it was working fine, completely stable, played a few games, messed about with some benchmarks etc… But then I realised I hadn’t changed the XMP profile in the BIOS and the RAM was running at its base 2133MHz. Doh! So I did that, and it’s turned out to be really unstable, constantly crashing games and apps, and BSODing (which was a shock, not seen one of them on Windows 10 before!)

I looked on Asrock’s webpage for that mobo and unfortunately they’ve not got a memory QVL list for Matisse-based CPU’s yet, though the mobo was sold as 'Ryzen 3000 Ready'. I did try upgrading the BIOS to their most recently provided one, but to no avail - the memory is still unstable at anything other than its base 2133MHz.

I’ve seen a few posts here saying people should edit the timings manually for unstable memory rather than rely on XMP profiles, but I really am lost in that regard.