Fan Help

Associate
Hi,

I'm currently looking at building an air cooled rig in a Lian Li 011 Dynamic case.

In order for the case to look "right" I think I'm going to have to populate it with 9 fans - 3 each of top, bottom, side.

I love the the Corsair Fans but they're too expensive so think it might have to be Lian Li BR's - just hoping the noise won't be too much, I guess they could be turned down in speed with so many.

The issue is I've never done RGB fans before and the controllers that come with them seem to only support 6 fans max. So the question is how do I control 9 fans? Do I plug 3 separate controllers into MB (assuming it has 3 fan controller ports) and lose remote control as I intend to buy 1 set remote and 2 non remote to save cash, or do I plug the remote based controller into 1 MB port then the other 2 controllers into the 1st remote controller (assuming the mb and fan plugs are the same), in which case will 1 MB port and the 1 remote controller handle the 9 fans power draw or is the whole system going to melt down, or are there other options?

Really stuck. Cost is also horrific for fans now, but that's a separate issue. Used to be £2-3 and now they're like £20-30 each! Tough when you need 9!

Soldato
I know this is off topic but thought I'd ask in case you've overlooked it. What air cooler are you going to be using with this case?

I'm looking at going back to air cooling and nearly brought one but the max cooler height is only 155mm. You would need to buy the XL version to fit in most mod to high end air coolers

Associate
OP
Thanks for that Information Finners. I was looking at a Noctua NH15 but it won't fit! I'm guessing now either a Dark Rock Pro (have concerns about memory clearance) or maybe I need to look to an AIO. Trouble is AIO's worry me. I can't afford to have leaks damaging MB's or blowing things up down the line. This is really a once in a decade upgrade.