Which Wood Would You ?

Soldato
:D

We are looking at removing an old, slowly rotting shed / summerhouse, extending the paved brick base and putting up a timber gazebo.

It's likely going to be 3x5m and will go with shingle roof and will enclose (matching timber panel) some of the sides due to the location and outlook.

Something like

Samos-Larch-Walls.jpg

Or

Artemis-3x5-3-l.jpg

Have seen quite a few and they vary (quite drastically) in price. There are some variations in timber size, fixings included or not etc, but the questions I have are does anyone else have one of these and any suggestions / reccomendation or things to look out for / consider?

Secondly - timber. Oak appears to be exceptionally expensive and the rest appear to be Spruce or Larch. Both of which I have very little experience or knowledge of.

Any feedback Home and Garden ? :)

For context; old building being removed and base extended :

IMG-20210221-133733.jpg

View from new gazebo (hopefully sans washing line)

IMG-20210221-133749.jpg

Soldato
My timber merchant keeps telling me oak is not great with moiture so probably not for outside. Cedar seems an obvious choice famous for it's weathering properties although goes grey which may not be you bag. If you are going to regulalry treat it I don't see why it can't be some cheaper fir construction although the grain might be loose and not have the finish you want. Spruce and Larch might be the right answer.

Soldato
Cedar yes, you can also get waney edge cedar cladding which would look good if you are building something like in picture 1. Spruce/larch are softwoods but larch tends to be more durable. Both will last many years with proper treatment.

Soldato
OP
Thanks both - we already have cedar cladding on our dormers (they are just over a year old and haven't been treated - on my do do list in the next few weeks):

IMG-20210221-133722.jpg