1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

10-Foot HUD Desktop/Sidebar gadget

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Conrad11, 4 Mar 2010.

  1. Conrad11

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,362

    Thought some people might find this useful as it still shows when you "Show Desktop" and rainmeter doesn't IIRC.

    ....or for the people that don't want to use rainmeter.

    Not configurable I'm afraid....quickly made it for my own config. If you hold shift whilst moving it around, you can move it into the exact position you want (rather than snap to grid)

    Click here for download!

    Screenshot:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 13 Mar 2010
  2. Phil2008

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 8,430

    nice,, thanks
     
  3. Soul.Survivor

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,286

    Location: Manchester

    Thanks! :)
     
  4. Slam62

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Jan 2006

    Posts: 8,022

    Location: Monaco

    thats lovely

    thanks
     
  5. Phil2008

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 8,430

    Anyway you can edit so the close,drag gadget buttons are closer to the clock. Cos clock wont stay to the side of the screen cos of the buttons??

    [​IMG]

    Everytime you restart windows the clock is always miles from the side of the screen cos of the buttons, see?
     
    Last edited: 4 Mar 2010
  6. Azuse05

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Apr 2009

    Posts: 1,950

    Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

    Lol. My clock was going so far left it cut the first digit off. Just a little buggy :)
     
  7. sorn21

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,378

    Location: T.O.

    This is nice, really nice.

    As stated the corner should be closer to the end of the line but apart from that I really like it.

    Thanks for sharing :D
     
  8. Conrad11

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,362

    If you hold shift whilst you drag it you can move it into the exact position you want....but I didn't realise that the position resets when you restart your computer.

    The reason I made it so wide was so that I could hide the close and settings buttons when my mouse hovered on the gadget. Will edit it to change it when I get some time.

    Not quite sure what you mean. Any screeny?
     
    Last edited: 5 Mar 2010
  9. Conrad11

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,362

    I have updated this and reduced the size.

    Use the same download link!
     
  10. sorn21

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,378

    Location: T.O.

    Downloaded the update, same looks, just ever so slightly more usable :D

    Thanks!
     
  11. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,762

    I'm confused it's just a clock?
     
  12. Conrad11

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,362

    Only change was the size of the gadget so that it will stay in position when attached to desktop.


    Thought some people might find this useful as it still shows when you "Show Desktop" and rainmeter doesn't IIRC.

    ....It's more to look pretty than anything else. Desktop customization. It doesn't actually do anything.
     
  13. Azuse05

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Apr 2009

    Posts: 1,950

    Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

    Someone actually made this a gadget which can be configured, sort of, it lets you change the font :p. Sadly it's huge (least twice the size of yours), buggy (far left digits can vanish/be cut off) and has to snap to grid :(

    http://factormystic.net/projects/gadgets
     
  14. linwelin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,531

    Location: Belfast

    thinking the same thing, all i can see is a clock
     
  15. sorn21

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,378

    Location: T.O.

    Yeah, I liked the way it looked from the begining, the massive space was the only issue. :)
     
  16. dbmzk1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,217

    Location: Stockport / Manchester

    Very nice thanks :)
     
  17. Azuse05

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Apr 2009

    Posts: 1,950

    Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

    Oh dear. Mines reading 12:45 AM, not pm like it should be :(
     
  18. dbmzk1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,217

    Location: Stockport / Manchester

    I kinda wish it was 24 hour actually! And if it didn't have the | after the day.
     
  19. Conrad11

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,362

    Yeah I noticed that today aswell. Will change shortly.
     
  20. knowlesy

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2006

    Posts: 4,665

    Location: Newcastle

    is this just for rainmeter