12v Pure Sine Wave Inverter ~1000-2000watt recommendations?

Man of Honour
Since moving to somewhere quite rural with the power coming on overhead, telephone pole style, lines it isn't the most reliable, not terrible but especially since several neighbours have installed electric car chargers it is creaking a bit.

I've a couple of applications I'd like to move away from reliance on mains power alone and having the extra backup would be nice being a more remote area. I have ready sources for 12V. I have plenty of experience with 100-300watt inverters but anything bigger seems to be a minefield of "burnt down my house", "lasted 3 hours before going bang", etc. so looking for recommendations before spending the kind of money a good one costs.

Soldato
It's been a few years but I used to build bicycle-powered electrical generation kit. Stuff you'd take into schools, festivals, events etc. Occasionally we'd sell a kit to someone living on a caravan or similar off-grid setup. Everything used 12V type systems as the bike generators would typically produce 12-30V.

In 2012 we were using these Studer AJ series ones:

https://www.selectsolar.co.uk/prod/567/studer-aj-series-inverters

And a quick Google shows me they've also used SMA inverters in more recent years. We were pretty serious about safe and reliable kit, given it was taken out into public spaces, all weather, and fed quite a dirty supply. Hope that helps at least a bit :)

Soldato
What’s your required AC current and how long do you want it to last?

The reasons DC>AC inverters go bang are:

1. Under capacity DC feed cables
2. Keeping them at a constant 100% of rated max load or higher
3. Sticking them in an unventilated box or cupboard where they overheat

Personally, I’d buy a decent petrol generator to keep the fridge/freezers cold if the power went out regularly for more than 3-4 hours at a time.

Soldato