1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

150gb raptor

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by Willbo, 9 May 2006.

  1. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    hey everyone, had one of the new 150gb raptors for about a month now, and i must admit im not that impressed.
    ever since i've got it, my windows xp's load times have really slowed down.
    i have done a hdd test and it says its fine, but as the blue bar is going over during boot up, you can hear a clicking noise similar to the one when a hdd starts/stops spinning.
    has anyone else suffered this?

    i'm thinking of selling it and either goin back to two raptors in raid, or getting a single 16mb cache sata hdd
     
  2. Ladforce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 898

    Location: Fleet

    check the sata cable. my raptor was running really slow once, turned out the cable wasnt making good contact. strange though cos the drive worked fine but would only work at about 30mb/sec. a new cable sorted it out though :)
     
  3. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    i've tried using new cables after i found some in my box of goodies lol cables connected firmly by feel of it.
     
  4. jhmaeng

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 May 2004

    Posts: 2,060

    Location: London, UK

    Either your settings could be wrong somewhere, or the HDD could be on its way out. The Raptor 150GB should give a noticeable increase in speed for just about any scenario when compared to any 7.2krpm drive, and should be plenty fast for booting, loading etc.
     
  5. jhmaeng

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 May 2004

    Posts: 2,060

    Location: London, UK

    Try posting a HDTach test here - should be able to point out any obvious things from that, for starters.

    Also, try the WD diagnostics test program to see whether your unit is in full working order.
     
  6. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    well theyre connected to the sata ports firmly, just triple checked. runnin wd diag now to find out and will post results.

    how much of a difference is there in load times between a normal sata hdd compared to a raptor? do you lot really think its noticeable?
     
  7. Ladforce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 898

    Location: Fleet

  8. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    thanks, how do i post the report?
     
  9. Ladforce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 898

    Location: Fleet

  10. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    click here

    hope that helps, i just dont understand how come i hear a noise of a hdd spinning/stopping during the windows boot, and end up staring at the blue bar going over 15-20 times during windows boot up
     
    Last edited: 9 May 2006
  11. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    wd diag test finished, and was ok
     
  12. Ladforce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 898

    Location: Fleet

    might be some driver issue. that report looks ok to me except i dont know why there are 2 big dips at the start. correct speeds compared to my 74gb drives though.
     
    Last edited: 9 May 2006
  13. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    what kind of driver issue? the only difference between this and my previous raptor install of two 74gbs in raid (which worked perfectly), was that the two 74gbs were on the silicon image raid onboard controller (which required driver installation during windows setup) where as now im using the onboard nForce 4 Controller.
     
  14. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    probably a silly thing to ask, but have you defragged recently?
     
  15. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    yeah, because i've been reinstalling windows from fresh, i've been defraggin frequently
     
  16. ninja2000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,548

    Location: Dorset

    I notice the difference is you are now using the nf4 Sata ports not silicon!
    Did you use the NF4 IDE driver? this often causes the slowdown. There are plenty of threads on it if you do a google search.

    If you did install the IDE drivers as part of the nforce shipsets then try disabling NCQ within device manager as this caused slowdown with both my maxtor Sata's and Spinpoint Sata's.

    Took me a while to sus this out! and really annoyed me as both makes of drives have NCQ but I couldnt use it! (not that it makes any difference to speed in a desk top environment but thats not the point!)


    cheers
     
  17. mattio1980

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 480

    Location: south uk

     
  18. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    yeah all sorted now. went back to silicon and installed drivers etc and working fine. thanks!