1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2 routers

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Darey, 4 Feb 2006.

  1. Darey

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 689

    Location: Preston

    Is it possible to daisy chain 2 routers together to have more computers connected to the internet?
     
  2. oddjob62

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 9,128

    Location: NW London

    YOu only need one router. You can add more PCs by using a switch.
     
  3. ste_bla

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Aug 2004

    Posts: 7,794

    Location: Milton Keynes

    You can by turning off the internet connection and dchp server off

    This would turn it into a expensive switch
     
  4. Darey

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 689

    Location: Preston

    Cheers, is it possible to do that with a router though as I have 2 anyway, and how hard is it to sort out?
     
  5. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    Like ste_bla said, turn off the DHCP server on the second router. Connect the two routers together using a patch cable between a LAN port on the first router, and a LAN port on the second (going into the WAN port will only over complicate things - double NAT isn't nice).

    Once you've done that, the second router is acting as a switch - plug PC's into the LAN ports on either router and away you go.
     
  6. Darey

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 689

    Location: Preston

    Cheers everyone, ill go and have a go at that and see what happens.
    I might be back later when I get stuck :D
     
  7. Ricochet J

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Jun 2004

    Posts: 12,906

    You'll make your life hard! Especially as your routers very likely aren't "designed" for configurations but simple toggle features on and off.
    Give it shot. If you don't succeed just buy a cheapo £10 switch.