2021 Season Chilli Growing

Associate
Soon time to start my seeds for 2021 outdoor growing season..

No greenhouse or tunnel here in London so my chilli's will be rawdogging the outside. I've a tiny grow tent with a 100w LED that I've been growing in for a few months. Not done an outdoor chilli grow before though, will be digging through seeds of over 100 varieties to decide on 20 or so plants.

Any other Londoners growing outside this year?

Soldato
Ohhh yeah, good shout.

I have a polytunnel and have grown chillis over the years but didnt grow any at all last year.

I have had varying sucess but one year grew some dorset nagas that went really well, got tons of fruit and they were really hot. I have grown caroline reapers once.

I will grow some mild "generic" chillis this year as honestly, the hot ones are just not particularly practical for my cooking needs.

But yes, must get ordering some seeds and get them in soon, December is the time to start them indoors until about late April.

EDIT: I have just ordered some seeds, sold as super long chily, but I am familiar with the variety my Dads friend grew some on his alotment and apparently do very well in this country so I will give those a go this year and they are not rediculously hot either and give quite a good bit of fruit.

EDIT 2: Like these:

s-l500.jpg

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Here's my indoor grow. There's 33 plants in there, most are in tiny 100ml bottles.

v5qZNfv.jpg

HoXHUiv.jpg

Jay's Peach Ghost Scorpion:
N5J4VH8.jpg

Sugar Rush Peach:
5r2XECF.jpg

Soldato
I had a decent crop from mine last year but ended up killing them off early as I was fighting a losing battle with greenfly so I've not had any on the go for a while. I'm just looking at which seeds to buy now but I'll probably limit myself to a few plants again so I'm not taking over the house.

Caporegime
mine are still growing from last year with fruit on them..