1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

250GB HDD

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by Aracnid, 11 May 2006.

  1. Aracnid

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Mar 2003

    Posts: 304

    Location: Winchester/Nottinghamshir

    I have £70 and all my SATA ports are full, so I need a 250GB IDE hard drive, which would you recommend.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    Im going to be buying another 250Gb drive soon, and im going for either;

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 250GB ST3250624AS SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD-058-SE)

    or

    Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB 2500KS SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD-046-WD)

    I was going to go with the WD, as most of my other drives are WD. But I might go with the Seagate, as they are known for their reliability.
     
  3. Aracnid

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Mar 2003

    Posts: 304

    Location: Winchester/Nottinghamshir

    thnx mate
     
  4. Ladforce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 898

    Location: Fleet

    i was in the same position as you, i went for the barracuda 7200.9 320gb was about 75 if i remember correctly. great drive had no issues with it + it has decent performance
     
  5. jhmaeng

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 May 2004

    Posts: 2,060

    Location: London, UK

    As far as I know, it's either

    7200.9 300GB
    or
    7200.10 320GB

    Are you sure yours is 7200.9, 320GB?
     
  6. AMDPower

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,641

    does ocuk even sell these? how much they going for?
     
  7. jhmaeng

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 May 2004

    Posts: 2,060

    Location: London, UK

    It's listed in the Seagate SATA HDD section of the shop pages :o

    £79ish incl. VAT
     
  8. AMDPower

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,641

    i am blind m8t, o :o :D

    i assume that satta2 is backward compatible with a sata 1 port??
     
  9. jhmaeng

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 May 2004

    Posts: 2,060

    Location: London, UK

    Yes, no problems using a new SATA II HDD on an older SATA1 socket.
     
  10. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 981

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    I thought you were after an IDE drive? Or am i miss reading it? :rolleyes: lol
     
  11. jhmaeng

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 May 2004

    Posts: 2,060

    Location: London, UK

    He's not the OP
     
  12. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    Oops, I missed the whole IDE thing :rolleyes:
     
  13. Ladforce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 898

    Location: Fleet

    sorry mine is the 7200.9 300gb ata-100 drive.
     
  14. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Why not get a 500Gb SATA one and retire/sell one or two of your current drives?
     
  15. GeezerButler

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,777

    I have two 300GB P-ATA Samsungs and they are pretty good - I got them cheap from 'the retail park PC superstore' who often have good deals on the Samsung stuff.
     
  16. jbloggs

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,961

    Location: NI

    I have a WD Caviar SE 200GB PATA (8MB cache), and very pleased with it, there also is a 320GB version:

    Western Digital Caviar Special Edition 320GB 3200JB ATA-100 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-036-WD) - £81.02 incl vat. :)
     
  17. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    wd 2500ks, about 60 quid. picked one up today. :)