1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

2600K for VR?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by core2016, 12 Jan 2017.

  1. core2016

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Jan 2017

    Posts: 6

    Hi guys,
    I have a 2600K which has never been overclocked! Recently got a HTC Vive and a 1070 but not sure if I need to upgrade my CPU&mobo as well?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Jumper118

    Soldato

    Joined: 17 Oct 2012

    Posts: 5,004

    Location: Leeds

    no it should be fine an overclock may help a bit though. dont see why you would get a new board and cpu when you have 25-30% more performance left in your current cpu :p
     
  3. db2431

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Dec 2006

    Posts: 373

    have a 2600k at 4.1ghz 16gb ram and 970, everything runs like a dream bar 2 games.Project cars, which runs like crap for vive owners even on a 1080, and american truck sim, which also runs bad, but slows down in cities for everyone.Ive tested the following and all run smooth as butter.

    Elite Dangerous
    Assetto Corsa
    Euro Truck Simulator 2 (weird how this runs well and american truck doesnt)
    Raw Data
    Arizona Sunshine
    ViveCraft
    Google Earth
    Superhot (through revive)
    Eagle Flight
    Sportsbar VR
    Pinball fx2
    Eleven Table Tennis
    Onward
    BulletSorrow
    Doom 3
     
    Last edited: 12 Jan 2017
  4. core2016

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Jan 2017

    Posts: 6

    Thanks guys! Especially to you db2431, great info for a new vive owner!
     
    Last edited: 12 Jan 2017
  5. sieze2

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Jul 2009

    Posts: 702

    4.4Ghz 2700k vive user here...no problems at all. Don't worry about it.
     
  6. redknight333

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Apr 2007

    Posts: 434

    Hey core2016 i have a 2600k, just wondering how did you get on with dropping a 1070 in your system did you need to update your MOBO bios to UEFI, i'm using a ga-z68x-ud3h-b3 bios F10, btw which video card manufacturer did you get?
     
  7. Dvader

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Nov 2015

    Posts: 28

    2700k here and been running at 4.8ghz for several years now. Stock settings bar changing the multipier to 48. Asrock board. :)
     
  8. core2016

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Jan 2017

    Posts: 6

    Hi, I'm using a ga-z68x-ud4 with UEFI bios. Graphics card is an Asus strix. Hope this helps.
     
  9. Dan221081

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Mar 2007

    Posts: 62

    2600k here (oc to 4.5ghz) running a GTX1080 and I am using a Oculus Rift DK2 and its running everything silky smooth you will have no problems at all.