1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

290-300 mhz ram(DDR 580-600) questiom

Discussion in 'Memory' started by easyrider, 25 Feb 2006.

  1. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,779

    Location: Autonomy

    what ram will do this speed?

    I am currently using G skill Hz and this runs at 265 mhz ok

    But this is limiting me somewhat running 1:1 with my opty 170

    Is crucial ballistix the only choice for these speeds?
     
    Last edited: 25 Feb 2006
  2. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,834

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    You don't really have to run 1:1 with running an AMD setup. Slap a divider on the RAM and you won't notice a performance hit and it will allow you to get the most from the CPU. :)

    But for those speeds at 1:1 I don't think any 2Gb kit can hit that? May be wrong?
     
  3. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,779

    Location: Autonomy

    I just like the idea of running 1:1
    Geekdom I know but hey! :p
     
  4. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,834

    Location: Newcastle, UK


    Yeah I should of said... I'm running 1:1 too. :p
     
  5. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    If you want to 300mhz 1:1, look for pc4800
    but there's no noticeable harm in using a divider
     
    Last edited: 25 Feb 2006
  6. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

  7. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,779

    Location: Autonomy

  8. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    That's the downfall, I'm not aware of any manufacturers that make 2gb pc4800 kits, I guess that's where DDR2 steps in.
     
  9. FreeStream

    Capodecina

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,375

    300mhz 2Gb kits are VERY rare, put your mem on a divider :)

    Conc
     
  10. man_from_uncle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,350

    There are a few sets that'll go 270 or more at something like 3-4-3-8 timings, but that timings hit makes a divider option look better. My XMS3500LL will even get to 280+ at 3-4-4-10, but it performs a bit better at 230 2-3-2-5 with a divider.

    If you do want to go 1:1 though go for the mushkin rather than the ballistix. The Ballistix do get there but most likely not at 2.8v or less, and they are known to burn up with 2.85v or more.
     
    Last edited: 25 Feb 2006
  11. malccy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,907

    Location: Torquay, Devon, UK

    OCZ or Mushkin PC4000 will offer best chance of hitting 290-300fsb 1:1. I would have also said Ballistix but many sets fail (including mine) which is a shame cos' they were great when working fine.

    I myself was skeptical about the idea of using a divider not causing a performance loss as come from an Intel setup previously; but have done benchmarks as I overclocked my Opteron 146 using both 1:1 and dividers and can say that no perfomance loss can be seen.

    If you want high overclocks you will basically have to use a divider to go past the 280-290fsb mark.
     
  12. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,779

    Location: Autonomy

    Reading some reviews about the mushkin it seems only the redline are doing 280 mhz and this is out of budget.

    Are the other mushkins as good?
    eg, not the redline ones?

    all the googling is bringing up the redline stuff



    BTW thanks people:)
     
  13. OV3RCLOCK3R

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 3 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,010

    Location: MANCHESTER

    if your looking for 280-300fsb, Crucial ballistix is your best bet but there recent batch was very bad and started dieing although mine has been running for more than 4 months now and its perfect.

    On the other hand, i would also recommend the OCZ 4000EB as they tend to overclock very well aswell
     
  14. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,098

    Location: Rutland

    I've had my Ballistix up as far as 292Mhz 1:1, so far mine has avoided dying too :)
     
  15. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,779

    Location: Autonomy

    I might go with the ballistix then.

    what do you think?

    And if they die I can just RMA them and get a replacement.
     
  16. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    ^ weren't they discontinued? The replacement would by 4 x 512 wouldn't it?
     
  17. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,098

    Location: Rutland

    OcUK still have stock of the 2x1Gb modules I believe, but if they die Crucial will give you 4x512mb which is pretty pants.
     
  18. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,779

    Location: Autonomy

    Well I aint getting them then :(

    That is so pants its unreal! :eek:

    What about

    Mushkin 2GB DDR XP4000 Extreme Performance Dual Channel Kit (2x1GB) CAS3

    280 mhz attainable?
     
  19. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    ^ That kit is under-rated and not many people talk about it, but I think it's quality RAM for a good price. 280Mhz shouldn't be a problem. Should overclock well, but not with the timings as tight as they would be with redlines.

    OCZ 2GB PC4000 Dual Channel Platinum Series EB (MY-058-OC) have slightly better timings though.
     
  20. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,779

    Location: Autonomy


    just been reading a review about the OCZ 2GB PC4000 Dual Channel Platinum Series :

    " The maximum frequency they were stable at with the relaxed 3-4-4-10 timings was 275MHz (550MHz DDR). :(

    I want 560 mhz DDR