1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2gb vs 4gb

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Unbreakable, 9 Jun 2010.

  1. Unbreakable

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 May 2004

    Posts: 321

    Location: London

    Going to be building a new machice for a mate based around an i3 and h55 with intergrated graphics. It will mainly be used for internet and general PC use along with the occasional photo editing.

    My question is would it be worth using 4gb of ram or would 2gb be enough?
     
  2. blaineoliver

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Jul 2009

    Posts: 705

    Location: Near London

    With the price of ram, i would stick with 2GB, i have 4gb, i barely use that for gaming, and still have not found any real use for it in photoshop, well till rediculous resolutions anyway.
     
  3. IKMS

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Feb 2010

    Posts: 533

    Location: South Wales

    I barely ever break 1.2GB even when gaming. I usually do when playing Crysis but even then it's a lot lower than 2GB.
     
  4. Dazza_Random

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2007

    Posts: 303

    2GB would be enough but do they mind pay for 4GB in total?
     
  5. Adrianr

    Soldato

    Joined: 3 Feb 2008

    Posts: 5,460

    I would assume by 'occaisional photo editing' it's likely to be minor edits, in which case 2GB would be enough if dealing with low to medium resolution jpegs. However, if you simply mean general editing but not too often, when dealing with medium to larger resolution RAW and TIFF files you will certainly be wanting 4GB.

    For general PC use 2GB is fine, but providing the extra expense is of no real bother to the customer I would certainly recommend 4GB, if only for a little longevity.
     
  6. sturmtruppe

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Feb 2009

    Posts: 571

    Location: Hinckley

    just install a single 2gb stick would probably be the easiet option
     
  7. arknor

    Caporegime

    Joined: 22 Nov 2005

    Posts: 38,871

    Location: Newcastle/Zurich

    usb stick for ready boost might help if your going 2gb to cut down on pagefile usage when gaming or whatevr
     
  8. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    IMHO, optimal for 32bit windows might as well stick with 2GB, as the gains from 2 - 3.25(3.5ish) are less than you would expect as 32bit windows still has a 2gb wall in "userspace".

    64bit windows, especially with ATI drivers can be a bit of a memory hog, and 6GB seems to be around the sweet spot for performace v value for money.
     
  9. Destination

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 May 2009

    Posts: 20,568

    Is this in an i7 system where you are running triple channel memory?
    i3 will be dual channel memory iirc, so 2*2 would seem reasonable, as you polulate dual channels.

    I have an i7 system, 64 bit windows 7, and currently using 2.3GB of ram when idle, using IE, yahoo msn, and not alot else. granted i have 12GB, so never tend to bump into memory issues.
     
  10. I DON'T fancy boys

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2008

    Posts: 2,966

    im not sure if this is correct, but doesnt 64-bit windows use twice the amount of ram as 32-bit windows anyway? So 2gb on 32bit is effective the same - performance wise - as 4 on 64bit?
     
  11. HangTime

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 25 Oct 2002

    Posts: 28,740

    Location: Hampshire

    No, that isn't correct.

    64-bit windows does use slightly more memory (for storing memory addresses) but nowhere near twice as much as 32bit.
     
  12. Unbreakable

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 May 2004

    Posts: 321

    Location: London

    Thanks for the help guys, I will pass on what you said and see if they are willing to pay the extra for 4gb. Probably worth it for the sake of £50.
     
  13. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 17,049

    I use Windows 7 64bit and went back to 2gb when I was testing memory. I could definately tell the difference in speed loss
     
  14. JasonM

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jun 2009

    Posts: 3,050

    Another reason for getting 4GB now is that it's matched.

    Over the years i've ran systems with different memory (due to later upgrades), and had various random (but rare) memory problems. All my systems I build now I fit memory for life of machine.

    I use 8GB myself on XP 64, but have alot of applications open at once.
     
  15. asoxedri

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Sep 2009

    Posts: 655

    Location: London

    i peek at 1.9-2.2gb with win7-64bit.
     
  16. Kelt

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Nov 2007

    Posts: 11,968

    Location: With the færies wearing black cherries for rings

    I ran Windows 7 x64 with 2GB for a while before going back to 4GB, difference very noticeable between the two. Playing some games exceeded 2GB easily, slowing them down due to increased use of page file.