1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

30xx Series Founders Edition

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Dirk Diggler, 24 Sep 2020.

  1. Joxeon

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 5,453

    Location: Uk

    They probably found when they had the loser restrictions in place that a lot of the cards kept going to same addresses, some people on here managed to get 4 cards etc so that's likely why that had to crack down.
     
  2. chrcoluk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Feb 2015

    Posts: 7,638

    Yeah it would be abused so easy if they allowed multiple orders per address :(.

    I have a second card for my sister on one of my credit card accounts, the address for it is at my address, so I would be able to order a second FE using that card no problem. Having second card holders is common for couples etc.
     
  3. xPETEZx

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Feb 2021

    Posts: 300

    As you have demonstrated by virtue of being unable to offer anything better, the system they have is the best balance between stopping scalping, administrative effort on there side and getting cards into as many unique users as possible.
     
  4. Th0nt

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 12,387

    Location: N.Ireland

    This is also 'better' or plays into the makeshift ruleset because they are the sole seller of the FE cards. If other retailers were also able to offer batches people would be alternating around them.
     
  5. b0rn2sk8

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Mar 2003

    Posts: 7,903

    They are already doing that anyway, the difference is those cards are pre-scalped for your convenience.

    The only saving grace is that CPU demand/supply seems to have normalised and prices have come back down. I’d expect the same to happen with GPUs at some point.
     
  6. Andythe Random

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 Jan 2017

    Posts: 242

    Location: South coast

    Probably, but some of the reason that CPU demand has dropped could be because people aren't bothering, because they can't get a gpu to go with it.
    It all gets a bit complicated with these interconnected products.
     
  7. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 75,332

    They have to query the address anyway to implement a limitation so for instance it shouldn't be hard to query a customer's order history - while it doesn't encompass all situations and is only an example 2 accounts at the same address with significant order histories are less likely to be one person scalping cards. Is it really necessary to block indefinitely rather than time limited? etc. there are loads of things which can be done without it having to be a binary all or nothing.
     
  8. Th0nt

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 12,387

    Location: N.Ireland

    What if you were a builder with said history, but cant make rigs for clients as your one card is now pegging you? People's only alternative in this method is to buy pre-builds.
     
  9. xPETEZx

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Feb 2021

    Posts: 300

    But it is time-limited. The blocks will only be in-place while cards are so hard to get.
    When/if supply normalises or even just improves enough, Im sure the restrictions will be lifted.

    Considering what an edge case its going to be, that 2 legitimate accounts with order history live at one address, its probably just not worth the bother to cross reference yet another thing.
     
  10. McPhee

    Soldato

    Joined: 17 Apr 2009

    Posts: 7,059

    FE drop on the Continent today, so could be one here tomorrow or Wednesday (unless they skipped the UK with this batch, as they have done occasionally in the past).
     
  11. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,490

    Location: Ireland


    Seen that earlier, no point in even trying to order from one of their drops as they don't ship to the UK.
     
  12. Trig

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,669

    Location: Leicestershire

    Well I'm back out of the country again on Friday so I expect there to be a drop from Friday onwards....
     
  13. xPETEZx

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Feb 2021

    Posts: 300

    The UK drop was last week...

    I expect Germany/Austria drop next. (Yesterday was France/Spain supplier)
     
  14. Cooper

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,882

    This thread's only useful purpose, as far as I can see, is to inform people that they've missed the latest UK drop and needn't waste their time looking for any more FE cards for at least the next week or two...Thanks!

    :p
     
  15. turbot1984

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jan 2012

    Posts: 1,752

    3070ti FE? Rumour it may be 8 and 16GB? Interesting ....
     
  16. xPETEZx

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Feb 2021

    Posts: 300

    Only way to have a chance at getting any card is with a stock alert of some kind. Then being fast on the button!
    Just randomly checking a page, or even going on a forum to see if there was a drop means you missed it.
    The FE drops tend to last about 10-15 minutes, as lots of people get orders declined. So it gives others a chance to bag one who didnt get it right when the alert went.
     
  17. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 May 2010

    Posts: 21,313

    Location: London

    My only regret about getting the FE is it drastically change the stability of my ram.

    I was running a dram calc CL14 tuned profile at 3600Hz 1.47v for about a year and now with the 3080 in there I am currently trying to run the most vanilla ram configuration you can think of just to get some stability.

    It's hard to know if a crash is a game or ram but general rule of thumb is if you have any overclocks on your system if it crashes then it's most likely your overclock.

    I was running only a very slight mild soft gent ram overclock which allowed me to play Metro Exodus enhanced for about 20hrs with no issues.

    Now a few sessions in to Valhalla and I got a freeze.

    But this is the baffling thing... I pushed the voltage on the ram to get Metro Exodus enhanced stable as that apparently pushes the system harder due to the RTX.

    Start playing a more traditional rasterised game like Assassins Creed Valhalla and get instability again.

    Now I am at the most basic ram config which you would get out of the box. I've just set the primary timings and 1.35v and left everything else on auto.

    ---

    I don't know for example if I bought say the 8Pack CL14 3600Mhz kit which runs at 1.45v if with this 3080 in the PC that will over heat too?

    My 3600MHz CL14 overclock which I ran for about a year was at 1.47v and timings where similar.

    So both volts and timings similar and that seems to be the case that the 3080 made it over heat whilst it was fine with the 1080 in the pc.

    ---

    On the subject of heat.... do you think its worth me investing in another set of fan at the top of the pc? Will this allow me to put back my CL14 3600MHz overclock do you reckon?
     
    Last edited: 18 May 2021
  18. Th0nt

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 12,387

    Location: N.Ireland

    Step 1 - sort your case airflow out so the GPU isnt dumping onto the RAM.
    Step 2 - you will only know if your RAM is pap if you try another kit and see if the crashes go away.

    This is taking your information in as the facts and you have exhausted other steps like memtest, voltages, BIOS settings that some troubleshooters use.
     
  19. LordBeggar

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Oct 2020

    Posts: 365

    But it was only 3060ti and 3080. Hoping for 3090 or 3070 drop this week
     
  20. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 75,332

    Despite some people saying otherwise I've often found RAM to suffer the effects of electromigration much more than other PC parts and often in only 12-18 months or so if ran much above stock voltage with cooling not really having much impact. It seems a bit pot luck probably depending on ASIC quality or something.

    A few times, even more recently, memory manufacturers have respun the die due to it one of the more famous being the D9GMH change to D9GCT but it has happened more recently just a quieter change - hence some of the ICs disappearing suddenly for new ones, etc.