1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

3700+ San Diego

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by TriedandTested, 27 Jul 2006.

  1. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,512

    Location: Neptune

    I just got out of reading a thread in GD about This Week's Offers; apparently you can over clock the 3700+ to FX55 speeds? Is that true?

    I've never really been an overclocker (ssshh) but do have one of these CPUs in my systems. Where do i start? Is is easy/safe?

    Such a noobified question so please be gentle! :D
     
  2. young lad

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Mar 2006

    Posts: 620

    Location: mansfield

    2.9 on mine at the mo which is higher that fx55 i think?
     
  3. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,512

    Location: Neptune

    Really? And how'd you manage that?
     
  4. Ghuraba

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,156

    Location: Leeds

    2.9ghz is what I have mine running at. A FX-57 is 2.8ghz at stock.

    Tired&Tested gives us a little bit more information about your PC so we can help you in your efforts.

    Michael
     
  5. Cal_G

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Feb 2004

    Posts: 354

    Location: Netherton Ghetto

    Got mine to 2.7 on stock volts, same with a mates chip, never seen one that wont go over 2.5
     
  6. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,512

    Location: Neptune

    Ghuraba..
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 27 Jul 2006
  7. Ghuraba

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,156

    Location: Leeds

  8. Justintime

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 24 Jul 2006

    Posts: 8,869

    Location: Edmonton, London, UK

    All down to luck and equipment but the general consensus is that most will attain high clocks.
     
  9. Soul Rider

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Nov 2005

    Posts: 434

    Location: Milton Keynes

  10. GeForce

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Feb 2006

    Posts: 4,631

    Location: Surrey, UK

    Got mine running at FX57 speed (2.8Ghz) on stock volts.

    Jon
     
  11. Street

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2005

    Posts: 7,955

    Location: Liverpool

    I could get mine running at 2.9GHz, but I ran it stabily for everyday use at 2.75GHz. Lasted me a while with no problems at that speed:)
     
  12. Gecco

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Jul 2006

    Posts: 675

    Running mine @ 260 x 11

    Stable & cool
     
  13. Mike UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2003

    Posts: 2,522

    Location: Huddersfield

    Got mine on 2.7Ghz and must say its the easiest overclock I have done in aages! amazingly cool too although sure i can get more out of this :D