1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

3D Mark 2005 bench results, but with a difference

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by FreeStream, 3 Mar 2006.

  1. FreeStream

    Capodecina

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,375

    Now, we rarely ever play games without AA and AF + without the sliders being on Quality.

    Now, why dont we use 3D Mark 2005 with quality settings and some AA and AF :)

    Now as I understand it, ATi *should* pull ahead here, however SLi could bring it back ;)


    Settings:
    • Both Sliders on Quality.
    • AA = 4x
    • AF = 8x Quality (NOT with Trilinear)
    • Other AA/AF settings (Eg. Temporal AA for ATi - must be off)

    You may be thinking whats the point? Well, it will show how each setup copes with AA and AF, this removes all (well, atleast most) CPU bottlenecking.


    Ill go first: X1900XT @ 666/1602 (1.4/2.089) = 9356.

    http://www.thunder-keep.co.uk/site/3dmark2005_aaandaf.jpg

    Go get benching!!! :D
     
  2. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,347

    Last edited: 4 Mar 2006
  3. PinkPig

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,543

    So we're enabling things in the control panel rather than in 3DMark? Not sure quite what "both sliders on quality" means, the only slider I can find is the Mipmap Detail Level slider, anything I've missed?

    Assuming not I get 10439 on my rig as below.
     
  4. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,347

    The new CCC doesn't have two sliders, plus it sucks, which is why a lot of people are using ATI Tray Tools.
     
  5. FreeStream

    Capodecina

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,375

    How did you beat me? lol you gotta set Direct X and OpenGl :confused:

    Weird :S
     
  6. PinkPig

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,543

    So people keep telling me, but I'm much happier with it than I was with ATI Tray Tools.
     
  7. FreeStream

    Capodecina

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,375

    What did you find wrong with ATT? Its quicker, simpler, uses less resorces.

    CCC + ATi Tool doesnt mix either, esp with 2D/3D detection.

    Conc
     
  8. paradigm

    Caporegime

    Joined: 26 Aug 2003

    Posts: 36,646

    Location: Staffordshire

    GPU: 7800GT (512MB) - 511MHz Core / 1420MHz Mem
    CPU: A64 X2 3800+ @ 250x10
    MEM: 1GB PC3200 Corsair PRO @ 250MHz

    7762 Marks. (4xAA/8xAF)

    Will be running again next weekend when my 2nd Video card arrives, so will see what SLi has to say for my score.

    EDIT: HERE [8772 marks] is an ORB link to my PC running in high-performance, 0xAA / 0xAF
     
    Last edited: 4 Mar 2006
  9. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 22,650

    Location: Guernsey

    can people post there results with there standard 3dmark brenchmark settings and there high quailty settings with AA/Af on

    So we can see how much the high Quality settings hit each card..
     
  10. paradigm

    Caporegime

    Joined: 26 Aug 2003

    Posts: 36,646

    Location: Staffordshire

    Decided to sod waiting for payday, and went and got my 2nd Gainward BLISS 512MB 7800GT, so here are SLI results:

    GPU: 2x7800GT (512MB) - 501MHz Core / 1410MHz Mem (Won't clock as hard now)
    CPU: A64 X2 3800+ @ 250x10
    MEM: 1GB PC3200 Corsair PRO @ 250MHz

    11143 Marks. (4xAA/8xAF / High Quality)
    12521 Marks. (0xAA/0xAF / High Performance)