1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3Ds Max Help!!!

Discussion in 'HTML, Graphics & Programming' started by luckypapyrussam, 5 Feb 2006.

  1. luckypapyrussam

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 584

    Location: Liverpool, England

    I am currently lurning 3ds max 8 and i know im getting too far ahead myself but anyway here is my problem, i am trying to model a car from some blueprints and i make my planes and add the bluwprint to them but i cant model anything because i cant see the blueprints on the screen unless i render the image, someone please tell me how i can view the image without rendering.

    Big Thanks!

    LuckyPapyrusSam

    .:ADDED:.

    Here are some images to show what im trying to get at

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 5 Feb 2006
  2. paulsheff

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 680

    Right-click on the viewport name and select Smooth+Highlights
    In the material editor click the blue and white cube (Show Map In Viewport) on the material you are using.
     
  3. luckypapyrussam

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 584

    Location: Liverpool, England

    Thanks alot this has fixed my problem :p also do you have any links to some in depth tutorials because i am kind of new :p
     
  4. NokkonWud

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Oct 2004

    Posts: 26,314

    Location: Redcar

    You don't want to be modelling a car then :p.
    Try modelling a simple church.
     
  5. therubble

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Jan 2004

    Posts: 752

    Location: Norfolk

    I want to model a church where should I look? I find the 3d max interface so un-friendly.
     
  6. Chaos

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,420

  7. NokkonWud

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Oct 2004

    Posts: 26,314

    Location: Redcar

    http://www.3dfoundation.com

    Look around and theres a stargate tutorial, thats quite good. There used to be a low polygon church too.

    3DSM doesn't have a fiddly interface, not compared to something like SoftImage which is just cluttered :).
     
  8. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands


    Erm, you didn't happen to do computer animation/Computer games design at Teesside did you? I was just about to dig out Doc's church tutorial, then I realised that you'd beaten me to it ;)
     
  9. richard1973

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Dec 2005

    Posts: 138

    Heh they still using that tutorial, that sprung to my mind too when he mentioned 'church' I used that tutorial in back end of 2001. Was a good one though :)
     
  10. luckypapyrussam

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 584

    Location: Liverpool, England

    I have another problem, i didnt finish that car :p it was too far forward for me, so i did a few tutorials witch i must say dont tell me very much but what i did lurn i tried to model this alien head with and for some reason the mirror tool makes a big mark in the middle of the model every time :(

    Can anyone help me fix this problem?

    I have no idea what to do....

    ....Here is a pic of my problem, dont mind the rendering i dont no how to do textures or good renders yet

    [​IMG]
     
  11. NokkonWud

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Oct 2004

    Posts: 26,314

    Location: Redcar

    Indeed I do, I study Games Design now, all the modules changed this year, so I am re-doing the new, none animation 2nd year (I'd have almost graduated :( ) but it's a lot better. He has brought out a cracking Stargate tutorial which is even better than the church now :p
     
  12. philio16

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 158

    Location: Manchester, UK

    Use the symmetry modifier instead of the mirror tool. Then move the smoothing (presuming you have meshsmooth on?) above the symmetry modifier in the modifier stack! should smooth it as one object then, not 2 halves.
     
  13. therubble

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Jan 2004

    Posts: 752

    Location: Norfolk

    Sorry to change the subject slightly, but managed to do the church tutorial its pretty good, anyways I put a window in but using a boolean modifier, then I thought id add a light. So i added a onmi light above the object. Works a treat but noticed that the light shines through the roof of the object. Anyway to fix this?
     
  14. luckypapyrussam

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 584

    Location: Liverpool, England

    Sorry but i am very new to 3ds max, iv only been using it 3 days, where would i find this symmetry modifier?

    .:EDIT:.

    I think i found the tool but i have no idea what it is doing, here are some screen shots i made to show you what i mean

    There is the shape i made
    [​IMG]




    And here is it after using that tool
    [​IMG]

    please help me this is a must need to know ;)
     
    Last edited: 6 Feb 2006
  15. philio16

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 158

    Location: Manchester, UK

    On the right hand side of the program, where you have the "create" tools to create geometry.... you will notice some tabs just above the options it gives you. Select your item and then (if it doesnt automatically) select the 'modify' tab. It looks like a blue rainbow. Browse down the list for the symmetry one and click it then play around with the options!
     
  16. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands


    Make sure you turn shadows on in the light settings. Also i'd advise to stay away from thge boolean function as it creates some horrible geometry. You'd be better off making the window using the cut and extrude tools if possible
     
  17. NokkonWud

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Oct 2004

    Posts: 26,314

    Location: Redcar

    Totally agree, the boolean feature is somewhat lacking. Autodesk are pimping a 3rd party plugin especially for booleans.
     
  18. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands


    Maybe so, but have you tried Hyperboolean... its even worse than the inbuilt one.. more features, but it destroys the geometry. I only use booleans when absolutely necessary, and even then I spend ages manually sorting out the geometry.
     
  19. luckypapyrussam

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 584

    Location: Liverpool, England

    Right here is the only options i get for symetry

    [​IMG]

    Whatever i do with these options nothing happens, this is really anoying me now :(


    EDIT

    Right i think i have fixed my problem, when i choose something like polygon though is it norman for the image to split back in half? i only see both sides when i click on the symmetry icon.
     
    Last edited: 6 Feb 2006
  20. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    When you click back on the editable poly, click the 'show end result' button, the one that looks like a white test tube. You will now be able to see both sides.