1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4000 + G.skill = ?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by SH4RKY, 28 Mar 2006.

  1. SH4RKY

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Aug 2004

    Posts: 766

    Location: b'ham

    What kind of over clock can I expect with an AMD 4000 and G.skill 2GB DDR ZX PC3200 on a MSI Neo2 Platinum??

    I’m not too interested in 3ghz type stuff as that requires skill, experience and someone that knows what they are doing, haha.
    Just a small OC to about 2.6 or so will do. Will I be able to run the ram at 1:1 with 1t and tight timings? Or do tight timings matter less if the CPU is faster?

    I guess its going to be a touch more complicated than changing a couple of settings in the BIOS and bobs your uncle?
     
  2. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,832

    Location: Tosche Station

    Don't bother with high frequency ram, just run a divider and get low latency ram. If you're used to Athlon XP clocking, then this'll sound horrid, but real-world performance with these isn't based on the RAM speed.
     
  3. SH4RKY

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Aug 2004

    Posts: 766

    Location: b'ham

    ahem... sorry to sound a bit thick but, wha?? :confused:





    gotta love n00bs :p
     
  4. SH4RKY

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Aug 2004

    Posts: 766

    Location: b'ham

    Read some stuff:

    do you mean keep the frequency of the ram low (200ish?) so the timings can be kept tight and run a divider (?) which allows the CPU to have a high frequency?


    ^ That just sounds all sorts of wrong, haha :p
     
  5. niteflite01

    Gangster

    Joined: 6 Aug 2004

    Posts: 340

    Location: Merseyside.

    My 4000+ runs happily at 2.8GHz on stock cooling and voltage, no discernible heat rise with my RAM running on a divider (@PC3200).
     
  6. SH4RKY

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Aug 2004

    Posts: 766

    Location: b'ham

    Hi,

    Can you post what you changed in your bios to achieve that?

    (I know all components are different etc, but a rough guide is always useful.)
     
  7. niteflite01

    Gangster

    Joined: 6 Aug 2004

    Posts: 340

    Location: Merseyside.

    I use a DFI NF4 board at 280x10 with the RAM on a divider to run it at it's rated speed as it's rubbish at overclocking.
     
  8. dale1uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,158

    Location: Newcastle

    The easy way to clock that cpu on the Msi board is to use the D.O.T. feature on it (Dymnamic Overclocking Tool). In the cell menu in the bios under dynamic overclocking set it to 7% and this will clock your board to approx 2.6 when under load, ie gaming, and will go back to stock when not under load. Just leave everything else as stock and it will do it for you :)

    NOTE: this is the easy way to clock it but not the best.
     
  9. SH4RKY

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Aug 2004

    Posts: 766

    Location: b'ham

    Ah, it changes under load...

    I gave that DOT thing a go yesterday, set to 5% with my 3200, but corecell was saying nothing had changed. Didnt think about checking while it was loaded.

    When using that DOT, do you have to set the mobo up to be overclocked (eg set the agp to 67, disable C&Q and plug in the sata hdd to sata 3 port etc etc)

    Although a 5% overclock was unstable (both manual and DOT), but thats a whole different story...