1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4400+ x2 wattage??

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by ]MadBoy[, 26 Jan 2006.

  1. ]MadBoy[

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 449

    Location: Gloucestershire

    i was unaware there was x2 wattages for this chip? ones 89w and 110w, the 110w p/no begins ada. 89w begins with ADV, any differences between this badboys? As in applications, games etc..?
     
  2. ]MadBoy[

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 449

    Location: Gloucestershire

    all the other cpus as in above that speeds ie fx-60, x2 4600, x2 4800 all have 110w. If you have the 89w will it under perform? Also the max temp for 89w is higher at 71 degrees, the 110w is lower 60ish
     
  3. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    Surley the max temp for the lower watttage chip will be lower?

    It wont underperformat all, but one of the higher wattage ones may be an fx60 chip (for example) that was made into a 4400
     
  4. Havana_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Oct 2004

    Posts: 4,787

    Location: location, location

    I think this is to do with chip characterisation.

    The 89W chips are less overclockable if I'm not mistaken.

    Hav
     
  5. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    I am not sure about this. I used to think there was only one type, the 110W. Having just checked AMD, there are indeed two. I would agree with Hav's statement though. @defcon5 - those are indeed the specs, which is surprising really. Don't understand the temperature/W thing there.
     
  6. juno_first

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,561

    Location: Stoke, England

    How do you find what wattage each CPU is using ?
    If 1 core was fx60 would you be better off booting up on that core and clocking to eg. 3Ghz ?
     
  7. ]MadBoy[

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 449

    Location: Gloucestershire

    boya!! just found my receipt from OCuk and ive got an ADA=110w :p happy bunny, even happier when the gfx card gets here!, bought it all b4 chrimbo, still not turned it on! :( U cant choose which core to boot on tho can you?
     
    Last edited: 26 Jan 2006
  8. juno_first

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,561

    Location: Stoke, England

    I know you can boot up in 1 core, guess that prob core 0
    How do you find ADA=110w ?
     
  9. ]MadBoy[

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 449

    Location: Gloucestershire

    had it on the product code on the receipt from ocuk
     
  10. juno_first

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,561

    Location: Stoke, England

    Right, got my 4400 receipt & stock ID is:
    CP-127-AM
    What does that mean ?
     
  11. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    Isnt that the store reference to the product (like a sku number)

    Its the codes on the chip you want to take notice of
     
  12. juno_first

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,561

    Location: Stoke, England

    The receipt tells no more inormation, so I need to look at the chip itself for product markings ?
     
  13. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 40,722

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Yep, I believe my first one was a 89W which does 2.5GHz, my new one is definitely a 110W version and does 2.7GHz (interestingly the core is also bronze instead of the regular silver). At the same clock/voltage the 110W runs cooler, which also ties in with the lower max temp for the 110W version.

    Jokester
     
  14. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    Yeah, like on mine it says LBBLE0517.

    And you must have heard the opty lovers going on about cabje and what not.

    It refers to the particular run or something
     
  15. juno_first

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,561

    Location: Stoke, England

    my 4400 has the following printed on it:

    ADA4400DAA6CD
    CCBWE 0532MPM
    4406888I51278

    Can anyone translate this, as in what the cores are & what they could do ?
     
  16. Havana_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Oct 2004

    Posts: 4,787

    Location: location, location

    It's an AMD64 X2 4400+ 110W Toledo Core
    Stepping CCBWE, manufacture date week commencing 8/8/05

    At 2.75GHz you've probably peaked tbh. Mine's basically the same chip, and I can get 2.7 on air, but not stably. 2.6 is stable for me on air.

    Cheers,
    Hav
     
  17. juno_first

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,561

    Location: Stoke, England

    ahh, thats why it wont clock >2.75
    ta
     
  18. mattio1980

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 480

    Location: south uk


    at last iv found someone with the same stepping as mine what knda volts u putting though your to get 2.75???????

    ada4400daa6cd

    ccbwe 0532 mpm

    4406888i150143**

    i cant find much info on this stepping atall (was hoping it was goner be one of those realy rare one's) but one post i have read is 2.9 as max clock but i dont want to put more that 1.6 through mine
     
    Last edited: 28 Jan 2006
  19. ByteJuggler

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Jun 2005

    Posts: 988

    Location: Leicestershire

    Interesting. I would've thought that lower wattage = less energy output = less heat output = cooler running/easier to cool down = more overclockable (all else being equal)... But if all else isn't equal (ie if maybe the 89W cores are not such high quality yet [compared to the 110W cores], eg maybe using a newer process that's not yielding quite as well yet say), well then all bets are off... This of course is just OTTOMH pure speculation/thinking out loud so take it FWIW!! <shrug>
     
  20. juno_first

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,561

    Location: Stoke, England

    the max my mobo will do 1.50, wish could run higher voltage as only 48c under heavy load