1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4800 X2 & Vapochill LS

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Amidar, 4 Aug 2006.

  1. Amidar

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2003

    Posts: 2,494

    Location: Darlington

    Hi,i bought a 4800 X2 last week & had a go at clocking it on air.It would reach 2600mhz with 1.4volts & i had no luck getting it to 2800mhz despite extra volts.Now my question is i have had a Vapochill LS sitting round here unused for 4 months,would the X2 reach better clocks using the Vapochill & whats the max volts i could safely use? or have i just got a duff chip.
     
    Last edited: 4 Aug 2006
  2. ArchAnGeL

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Apr 2003

    Posts: 1,801

    Location: Manchester

    different cores and all but i had a winchester 3500 at 2.57 on air @ 1.55v. I put it under a mach 2 GT and got 2.7 @ 1.74 v - max load temp is 1 deg, -26 idle (by mbm5 on dfi nf4 .ini). It won't boot at 2.8 and is a little flakey at 2.75.
     
  3. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    The X2 4800 isn't a brilliant clocker, so don't expect miracles. However, on phase you should be able to get quite a bit more out of it yet :). Here people were using 1.6-1.7 VCore as an average figure to get their high clocks stable with phase cooling.
     
  4. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: 21 Jun 2006

    Posts: 36,169

    max volts would be whatever your mobo could handle, it should overclock over 3ghz with a vapochill LS but it depends on your ram and mobo
     
  5. stigggeh

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,900

    Vapo LS as an ornament :p how does it look on the coffee table

    get it used ! (give it to me for free and i will make use of it :p )


    on a serious note, 1.4v is still low even on air aint it ?... i thought 1.5 was even safe for X2 chips
     
  6. ubern00b

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Nov 2004

    Posts: 3,737

    which would be a better clocker then, a 4400+ or a 4800+ ? or which would more likely reach around the 2.8ghz mark?
     
  7. MightyMatt

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2005

    Posts: 232

    Location: Belfast

    my 4600+ is sittin @2.85 on 1.5v. cant get her higher dispite extra volts...but at least she hits 2.8!
     
  8. Amidar

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2003

    Posts: 2,494

    Location: Darlington

    Motherboard is a DFI Lanparty Experty & memory is 2 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix(Nearly 1 year old & still going strong :eek: )

    If that cpu fails i've still got my FX-55 to try as i have still only ever used it on air.Call me a chicken but i'm just paranoid that something will go wrong :D
     
  9. ubern00b

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Nov 2004

    Posts: 3,737

    Thats awesome, but I am interested in the 4400+ or 4800+ purely because they have 1mb cache.
     
  10. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands


    You have a Vapochill and a FX55 just sitting there not doing anything? :eek: Get them slapped togehter and start clocking! If you don't I will come round your house and steal them off you. (And I live near by you, so im not kidding) ;)
     
  11. Amidar

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2003

    Posts: 2,494

    Location: Darlington

    I know i should pull my finger out of my **** and do something.I keep saying to myself "this weekend i'll do it" but never do :p.Bought a Lian-Li PC7 2 weeks ago and have cut & drilled this ready for the Vapochill but this is as far as i have got.Anyway this weekend i'll sort it all.May get rid of the 4800 X2 even though i have just had it over a week & go back to the FX-55 as all i do is browse the net & play games :)
     
  12. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: Pencoed

    3ghz easy on the vapo.