1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

5700XT black screens

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Jon3sy, 19 Jan 2020.

  1. Jon3sy

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 67

    Location: Stoke-Chess

    So as title says i brought a 5700XT 1-2months
    For the most part been a good card
    every now and again get black screens i keep hearing sound for a while then stops and i have turn PC off from back or holding power down for ages
    this stopped if i auto undervolt the card.

    read online a fair few people having same problem..
    Last 2-3 weeks i have some really bad days where i get it alot AMD drivers crashing
    black screens even i load up PC once goes past BIOS right to black screens
    sometimes i keep getting black screens game crash then ill get BSOD

    But then some days ill be lucky to even have 1 black screen error at all
    even more weird last few days when i load up windows my sound drivers are not working and windows need repair for them to work D:

    Using dual screens 1 is displayport and other is DVI to display port even if i used 1 screen using HDMI i still get black screen then AMD software crashes

    If anyone can help would be amazing

    *Edit things i have tired*
    Using 1 screen using HDMI and Display port
    Downgraded drivers to a older vision *tired 3 different visions* running newest 1 atm
    Now running 2 PCI-E cables to card and not one
    Brought a better cable
    SFC /scannow Didn't find a problem
    Turning most of AMD settings off like Anti lag/chill/boost/Image sharpening/enhanced sync

    *Edit noticed my windows is just feeling weird sometimes when i shut down my PC takes ages to shutdown same with loading up.. then others near right away all drivers update/windows drivers and bios drivers NVME says its good health

    Edit.
    Seems be mostly working fine last few days if 1 crash a day today none

    no idea why its stopped just all the things together/updating has stopped it maybe when reconnected to might of helped no idea :S
     
    Last edited: 4 Feb 2020
  2. eeii

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 Feb 2017

    Posts: 472

    Location: Mondas

    I would recommend you get a quality display port cable that is either 1.2 or 1.4 compatible. Seen a load of problems with cr@p cables. Overclockers do one for about a tenner.
    I would also check your temps with something like hardware info to make sure not only is your gpu chip is running cool but also your gpu ram and vrms.
     
  3. martin363

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Jan 2012

    Posts: 583

    Location: Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

    My nephew had a similar issue, he had enabled enhanced free sync in Radeon Adrenaline. Turning that off solved the issue. May not help, but worth a try.
     
  4. Jon3sy

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 67

    Location: Stoke-Chess

    Temps all fine using msi rivatuner never go over 80c the goy core itself is around 60c and I did buy new cable not long ago but cheaper one from ocuk hmm I'm going back a driver now and touch wood
    In bios I had no crashes at all so DDU now going older driver
     
  5. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,341

    Location: In a house

    Theres loads of people getting Black Screens with the latest drivers, as they're broken, give the last 19 set a try, the 19.12.1s, as a lot of peole have gone back to them, until AMD fix their latest.
     
  6. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,200

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Use latest drivers, disable enhanced sync. Do not use browser GPU acceleration or the Discord overlay in games.
    If the issue persists, you need much better DP cable. Vega rated DP1.4 HBR3 costs around £10 and is great investment
     
  7. Superficial

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,024

    Location: London

    This chap fixed it by switching HDCP off i the driver settings:

    https://community.amd.com/thread/243684
     
  8. Jon3sy

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 67

    Location: Stoke-Chess

    Going order one now but in mean time trying 1 display using HDMI weird thing just seems be so weird yesterday 2 crashes today can't go more like 30 mins with out black screens hmm might try fresh windows aswell


    it made my screens come back on and game no crash but then it black screen again till i got a BSOD :'(
     
  9. Jon3sy

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 67

    Location: Stoke-Chess

    just tired with 1 screen using HDMI and still jsut got black screen but comes back on and AMD software has crashed... thinking just doing a reinstall of windows
     
  10. Danny75

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2013

    Posts: 8,056

    Can recommend BUSOHE Display Port cable 1.4. Quality.
     
  11. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,200

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Use also the 21.1.3 drivers and make sure before you install them to use DDU to stop windows from downloading their own driver.
     
  12. 4K8KW10

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Sep 2017

    Posts: 8,145

    Download the driver and disable the internet connection. Then install after system restart. No Windows graphics driver will be downloaded ;)
     
  13. Jon3sy

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 67

    Location: Stoke-Chess

    Done and was still crashing but now i used auto undervolt and its gone lower then it did using newer software and seems be doing better no crash so far D:
     
  14. Jon3sy

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 67

    Location: Stoke-Chess

    did see that Thanks ill order :D
     
  15. miller745

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 573

    Location: Darlington

    Yep I'm having to stick with 19.12.1 because of this issue. Noted as fixed in the 20.1.3 but it isn't, at least theyre working on it.
     
  16. MrPotato

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Mar 2017

    Posts: 1,046

    Location: Cambridge

    Can be issue with cables. Had similar issues with PS4 and not so good HDMI cables, and similar with PC and some poor cables. Since then, not going crazy, but buying good quality ones at mid-range price.
     
  17. Johnny_Alpha

    Associate

    Joined: 9 Jul 2019

    Posts: 12

    Rolled back the driver here too and no more black screen issue.
     
  18. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2013

    Posts: 8,830

    Location: Knowhere

    I'm running a single 3440x1440 monitor with a stock clock Powercolor 5700XT Red Devil & I've been getting random black screens ever since I bought it, I could go days or weeks without a black screen but last week it did a black screen & died permanently, When I tried to boot up I got nothing on screen, no spinning fans & no lighting up except for a red light on the pcb near where the monitor cables plug in, I still have an RX 480 Red Devil so I did all the checks like reseating the gpu, testing the power cables et cetera with both cards & the 480 was fine so I returned the 5700 to get it fixed under warranty.
     
  19. MonkeyBasher

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2009

    Posts: 455

    I had this exact same issue (black screen, audio, need to power cycle) with a much older AMD card and would get different periods of "OK" with much older drivers but it was never 100% and oddly I think was linked to specific game engines.
    As they tasked the system more I assume the power needs of the card ramped up, fans came on and chips got hot and my system couldn't cope.
    I assumed that different (older) drivers had different power management settings and were just more stable.
    Whereas newer drivers push for every bit of performance and use more power.

    I tracked the problem down to an old power supply that was working "fine" most of the time. Replaced it and updated drivers to latest ones and had no more problems.
     
  20. keybaud

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2006

    Posts: 157

    I get the issue, but with 2 monitors it isn't just a black screen. It freezes both screens, one of which is blank, but the mouse cursor still moves and any keyboard inputs are processed. Some times the screens kick back into life after about a minute and Task Manager pops in to view along with whatever other random events have occurred due to my key pressing. Other times I have to hard boot the PC, but sometimes one of the monitor will continue to display a corrupted image for a few seconds after the PC has switched off!

    I never used to get this issue with R9 280X, RX 580, GTX 970 or a Vega 64 with the same monitors and cables.