1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

5870 Vs "6870" ..

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by adamknox, 6 Sep 2010.

  1. kylew

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 May 2007

    Posts: 10,739

    Location: Liverpool

    My point was, a square die at 15mm x 15mm goes up to 21mm x 21mm when you double the area. When you double the area of a GPU you can double the transistor count. If that 15mm x 15mm chip has 1 billion transistors, then the 21mm x 21mm will have 2 billion transistors.

    The way you've put it suggests you think doubling a GPU's size means you multiply the sides by two, which would result in a core 30mm x 30mm, which would actually be 4x the size not 2x the size, and 4 billion transistors not 2.[​IMG]
     
  2. Mr Krugga

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Oct 2009

    Posts: 8,903

    Location: Essex

    Rumours speak that the 6000 series will be at least 25fps ahead of the 5000.

    /EOT
     
  3. NathWraith

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Dec 2005

    Posts: 11,090

    Location: Cheshire

    LOL.

    Hey guys from what I've heard SLI 460s will still own it :p
     
  4. billysielu

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Aug 2009

    Posts: 12,113

    Location: Oxfordshire

    If I put my weener in my PC it runs faster.
     
  5. Mr Krugga

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Oct 2009

    Posts: 8,903

    Location: Essex

    NO! :mad:

    /butthurt


    I bet it smells all right too.
     
  6. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 74,126

    Sorry not really a twitter person so no idea how to find it again. Just saw it on my facebook "from twitter" feed for one of the developer channels/pages I'm subscribed to. Granted they are mostly driver guys on there so who knows but it was semi officially an AMD statement.
     
    Last edited: 7 Sep 2010
  7. zapgod

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Feb 2009

    Posts: 261

    i heard the 6870 can fly is it true?
     
  8. Larry365

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Aug 2010

    Posts: 240

    Location: Lincoln

    My single HIS 5870 has no problems playing Metro on full graphics.

    I only bought this card recently. I am hoping that the 6870 will not blow away the 5870 for this reason but a consequent drop in price of the 5870 would encourage a purchase of a second 5870. That will certainly suffice for the time being.
     
  9. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 34,955

    Location: Ireland

    :confused:

    So the 5870 should blow away the 6870? :p
     
  10. scrlk

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Sep 2009

    Posts: 3,641

    Graphics Gard geeks: It's the matter of 10 more fps in a benchmark or death!
     
  11. MooMoo444

    Caporegime

    Joined: 4 Jul 2008

    Posts: 25,577

    Location: (''\(';.;')/'')

    I think we're all wondering.. whats the performance increase gonna be from 6870 to 7870?
     
  12. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Jan 2005

    Posts: 39,141

    Location: Co Durham

    +30%? Trends in recent years seem to be around that region. It's only occasionally you get a freak card which offers a 100% boost.
     
  13. drunkenmaster

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,194

    Firstly I never mentioned the size of the sides, in any way what so ever.

    You will find that if you make a square 300mm in diameter, fill it up with 15mm squares and fill it up with 21mm squares you will in no way find a 1/4 drop in the number of squares that fit in, if you're very lucky it will be a little over half, if you're unlucky it will be a bit under half.

    Seriously you completely confused here, doubling the area does NOT allow you to maintain 3/4's of the amount of cores.

    Heres a pretty simple one for you, think of a square, ANY square, now, draw a line through the middle, how many rectangles do you have that are half the size of the square, is it 1.5(which you seem to think it is) or is it, unsurprisingly, 2. Now add those rectangles together and you have, you guessed it, the original square, it doesn't somehow somewhere in there change to let you have 3 fit in.

    I really don't understand how you think doubling the gpu area somehow lets you make 3/4's of the number of cores within the same wafer size.

    Ok, take a 4cm by 4cm square, fill it with 1cm cpus, you'll get 16, now fill it with 2cm cpus(what you seem to think I said in doubling the sides lengths), how many fit in, 4 squares. You double the sides you do increase the area by 4 times. However, if there was two flaws in the 2 separate 1cm area's, then of the 16 potential cores only 14 would work.

    Now if you have those 2 flaws take out 2 of the big cpu's, you're only left with 2 working ones. The bigger the core, the worse the yields. So rather than go from 16 to 4 cores, you've actually gone from 14 working cores, to 2, a MUCH worse drop in cores than increasing the size by 4 suggests.

    Now if you only doubled the size and got 8 2cm2 cpu cores in there, and 2 were faulty, you'd end up with 6 working cpu's.

    So 14 cores down to 6 working cores, its not half, its less than half, thats how yields go down with an increase in core size.

    So in reality if you were getting 100 working cores before, and then double the size, you'd end up with in perfect circumstances 50 cores absolute maximum, but in reality you'd end up with probably 30-40 depending on process quality and luck, etc, etc.
     
  14. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,230

    don't forget bragging rights and endless ocuk posts
     
  15. 'Wes

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Jun 2009

    Posts: 11,748

    Location: Łódź, Poland

    No-one is seriously considering moving from a 5850, 5870 to this are they?
     
  16. Marine-RX179

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2010

    Posts: 14,334

    Well, there're alway rich ******** who'd grab the latest release as soon as they are out and ditch their old ones (pardon me if anyone reading this is a rich ******* :D )
     
  17. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2007

    Posts: 18,409

    Location: North West

    I think it depends on where the 6*** hit performance wise, far to early to say whether it would be a good upgrade or not.
     
  18. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jan 2007

    Posts: 13,001

    Location: PA, USA

    Why not? Are you saying that a card that will likely be cheaper, use less power, cooler, but about the same performance or better (All guesses of course!) than the 480gtx will not be wanted?
     
  19. gareth170

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Jan 2007

    Posts: 14,083

    Location: .

    if the 6850 is better than my 5850 @ 1000/1250 then yes...

    but i don't think it'll be.
     
  20. NathWraith

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Dec 2005

    Posts: 11,090

    Location: Cheshire

    Or possibly just enthusiasts?

    :rolleyes: