1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

£600-700 gaming rig, all good?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Auraomega, 29 Sep 2009.

  1. Auraomega

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Sep 2009

    Posts: 2,089

    Location: Leicester

    Hi there,

    I'm going to be building a new rig after Christmas and I'm looking for some advice. My PC is generally used for programming (D3D/games deving mainly), gaming (S.T.A.L.K.E.R. being a favourite, would also like to play Crysis 2 when its released), music and DVDs, image editing, and Linux (to compile new builds of my operating system). My monitor runs at 1680x1050 max, and frankly for gaming I don't think I need anything more, however I will be using my computer to watch movies on a TV at some point, so its got to handle that. Hopefully that'll give you an idea of what I want out of my system.

    I'd prefer to be closer to the £600 mark than £700, and where possible would like to use black PCBs to give a unified look to the PC (half the fun of a PC is it looking cool ;))

    My list currently looks like this...
    PSU - Be Quiet! (650w)
    GPU - nVidia 275 (Sparkle)
    CPU - i5 750
    Mobo - MSI P55
    RAM - G.Skill Ripsaw (4gb)
    Fan - Coolermaster Hyper TX3
    HDD - Samsung F3
    Case - Thermaltake Tsnuami which costs £72 (but unfortunatly isn't sold here).

    In total (at time of posting) thats £683.96

    So with that, is there anything there that should/could be changed, also will the PSU handle that rig and a (hopefully) 4GHz overclock?

    All advice welcome.
     
    Last edited: 29 Sep 2009
  2. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,738

    Location: Kent

    spec looks good, couple of things I would change is the Hard drive to the Samsung F3 and perhaps a different case, had the Thermaltake a few years ago and did not rate it much. But above are personal choices.
     
  3. PermaBanned

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Jul 2009

    Posts: 16,239

    Location: Newcastle/Aberdeen

  4. Temi_D

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,160

    Location: 127.0.0.1

  5. Auraomega

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Sep 2009

    Posts: 2,089

    Location: Leicester

    Cheers for replies guys.

    @RJC: Any reason for the change in HDD? I've never really been that concerned about them in the past so I don't really know advantages of one over the other. (But of course I'm willing to learn :p)

    Also, I decided on the Tsnumi as its the only case I've found to date which I like the look of, its either that or I make my own (which I'm willing to do if needs be).

    @Superewza: In light of what Temi_D said, is that fan going to be suitable? Also the mobo, is black out of the question?

    @Temi_D: I heard the Freezer 7 Pro was a good fan and that the i5 didn't output that much heat?
     
  6. Temi_D

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,160

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    I thought i saw somewhere that you were going to overclock it to 4GHz:confused: The freezer is perfect if its going to be at stock speed, maybe a slight overclock too:D
     
  7. PermaBanned

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Jul 2009

    Posts: 16,239

    Location: Newcastle/Aberdeen

    Yes. Sure, it's a few degrees behind one what's four times as expensive. What do you expect? But you'll still get a decent overclock with this since it's a reasonably low TDP chip.
     
    Last edited: 29 Sep 2009
  8. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,738

    Location: Kent

    Looking at some reviews they seem fairly good in performance stakes, I'm running the F1 in my machine and my parents without any problems.
     
  9. Auraomega

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Sep 2009

    Posts: 2,089

    Location: Leicester

    I did at the end of my first post.

    Ok, so with those changes I've brought the price down to close to what I was planning on spending on a Core 2 build, so all in all not bad.

    So 650w is enough to power the entire system and a good overclock at load? I want to make certain because the PSU is one of those places I'm not willing to make cut backs.

    And for the mobo, I've not changed yet because I'm still after a black one if possible, but I have noted that blue mobo in case.
     
    Last edited: 29 Sep 2009
  10. Temi_D

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,160

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    The psu is very good so i wouldnt worry about that