1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

64bit

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Willbo, 6 May 2006.

  1. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    hey everyone, just wondered how people are getting on with the windows xp 64bit os?

    ive had an amd x2 for sometime and have always used the 32bit version of xp. are there any real advantages or problems of using 64bt? whats the performance and compatabilty like?
     
  2. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,155

    Location: Behind you... Naked!

    Its getting there.

    Many many posts already asking the same question, so Iwont give the same answers.

    Basically 98% of apps run fine on it. and all good hardware runs on it, if not, then its time to swap your hardware.

    A simple answer for you to chew on is this:-

    If you have to ask whether XP64 is any good for you, then you can bet your life, that its not.
     
  3. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    Best way to find out is to try it!

    My friend uses it and he hasn't run into any problems - at least none that hes mentioned :p

    SiriusB
     
  4. NightmareXX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Aug 2005

    Posts: 1,025

    Location: Team 10

    What are most games like on installing to X64? Do they still work just as well/install?
     
  5. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,155

    Location: Behind you... Naked!

    I found that 100% of my games have gone on perfectly fine and run pretty much the same.

    FarCry and HL2 both have upgrades to 64bit and to be honest, they dont really play any better, however, FarCry looks like its doing more in the detail side of things.

    HL2 felt a bit slower to be honest, and yet the last system I tried it with, it was faster, so it may be pot-luck maybe?
     
  6. locutus12

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 5,897

    to be honest, id go with "better the devil you know" and stick with 32bit XP, if you want 64bit OS then wait until vista is out and has service pack 1, getting it immediatly would not be a good idea with microsofts track record on first launched OS security. with the first launch of windows XP you could type in ANYONES ip address and if they were not running a firewall or router... up pops there hard drive contents :D

    p.s. 2000 POSTS!! :D
     
  7. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,155

    Location: Behind you... Naked!

    Agreed.

    XP64 offers absolutely nothing that XP32 cannot do.

    I only got it for a laugh myself and its M$ who are having the laugh, not me.

    PS How many posts?
     
  8. locutus12

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 5,897


    2001 :D :rolleyes:
     
  9. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,155

    Location: Behind you... Naked!

    :D
     
  10. uvarvu

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Apr 2004

    Posts: 4,132

    Location: Bath

    I gave up on x64 due to the lack of driver support for my peripherals. I also became increasingly annoyed with the os checks on installers for games and bugs such as the crashing when firing orbs in the 64 bit version of HL2.
     
  11. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,155

    Location: Behind you... Naked!


    Explain?

    Firing orbs?

    As in the levels near the end where you can use the grav gun to grab the things and shoot the combine with them?

    I didnt get that far with my X64 install... I basically just ran *** first few levels and I found it to be fine.

    OS Checks on installers.. Yeah, I have seen that a few times... This Program needs XP to run and so on... It did get a bit iffy, but for me, the stuff that didnt run, was also stuff that I didnt care about, I was just looking if it was going to play ball.
     
  12. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,075

    Location: Intel HQ

    does the yonah / conroe support x64?
     
  13. Cozman

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Aug 2003

    Posts: 581

    Location: Grimsby

    Hi

    Running two rigs on x64 here so guess i can say its good enough & stable enough for most general use with the only real issues being some hardware drivers being hard to find or non-existant & some copy protection stuff like starforce being unsupported which isnt a bad thing from what ive heard. Gaming isnt super express faster than XP32 but most things install and run without problems , some give a slight performance boost and some are slightly slower on x64. Might be my imagination or might be actually true but i believe disk intensive games (large maps & data) gets a boost with load times reduced (Farcry & FS2004 as examples) and most things benefit from a more responsive OS. The only real problems are some hardware (printers , control cards & modems) have no 64bit drivers & there is currently no good 64bit software firewalls (except for nvidia if you have nforce4 m/b which seems to work ok). If confident enough to dual boot x64 & XP32 and you have enough disk space then there should be no harm in trying it for yourself ( i believe a free time limited trial is still available) and see what you think.

    just IMO peeps so dont shoot me if you disagree :p

    Coz
     
  14. t_aitch

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 883

    Hey there, im using 64bit windows at the moment, and ive had no problems with drivers, it was only last november i had to be very careful becuase there was a large lack in drivers for my printer.

    64bit drivers are very common now for internal hardware components, however peripherals is what lacks at the moment, probably becuase they are considered a luxury? I dunno.

    A friend just bought a logitech webcam from somewhere and there are no webcam drivers AT ALL for logitech ones, however creative have a comprehensive list.

    Logitech do, however have drivers available for My mouse and keyboard, and surprisingly enough, these were all out of the box.

    Another thing that i have had to do, is if i was interested in a hardware component, i would have to email the manufacturers in some situations to get information (eg. Imon Remotes).

    There are some really good forums and sites dedicated to 64bit windows which i have got a lot of help from in the past about driver issues, have a google.

    The only games that i have not been able to get working so far is Homeworld 2 and RA2. Everything else works perfectly.
     
  15. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,831

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Printer drivers are the biggest issue for me. Also the 64-bit version of Firefox is a bit unstable, and can cause my machine to Bluescreen. It gets better every day though.

    Roll on Vista...
     
  16. t_aitch

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 883

    Yeah blato roll on vista.

    Ive never had any problems with firefox, im on their bon echo alpha at the mo and thats never crashed.

    Its not very good tho.
     
  17. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,155

    Location: Behind you... Naked!

    Didnt think about FireFox TBH. Not tried it through x64 and I am annoyed with that because FF is now my main Browser, and for me, a staunch IE supporter until only recently, this could be a big deal

    I suppose given that there are a 32 and a 64 bit version of IE, I cannot be all that surprised really!

    I am going to have a play later with FF in x64 ( My main PC is XP32 )
     
  18. Joe42

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,172

    Location: Northants

    Thats the reason i'm still on XP32. HP don't do 64 bit drivers for any of their printers, and its no use to me if i can't print from it.
     
  19. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,155

    Location: Behind you... Naked!

    And there is another reason why I go for Epson every time.
    Not only are the inks chippy-cheap, they also have drivers for all my Epson Printers
     
  20. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,831

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    They do Server 2003 drivers though, and if you have access to a S2003 CD you can get the required files from that. It works pretty well as a bodge.