1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

6800 and artifacts question

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by *FLASH*, 10 May 2006.

  1. *FLASH*

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,953

    Location: Caerphilly, South Wales

    Switched on my daughters PC today and I got multicoloured squares or artifacts all over the place.

    The card is a Aopen 6800 DVI128 and just over a year old.

    So I think maybe I'll try to flash the bios but there no bios on the webpage :mad:

    Do you think the card is a gonna? In your experience is this kind of thing recoverable and do any of you know how to send back one of these to the manufacturer as the only place I can see on their website is in Germany.
     
  2. *FLASH*

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,953

    Location: Caerphilly, South Wales

    anyone please :)
     
  3. *FLASH*

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,953

    Location: Caerphilly, South Wales

    last try for some help as google isnt bringing up anything :(
     
  4. Stellios

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Aug 2004

    Posts: 17,023

    Location: Geordieland

    Sounds like the memory on the card is shot.

    Does it do it from POST or just when your in windows?
    Check for any overclocks/unlocks
    Check for overheating
    Update your GFX drivers

    To me though, it sounds like the card knackered, especially if its doing it as soon as you hit the power button
     
  5. Clockaholic

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 70

    Location: Warrington

  6. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,693

    Location: In a house

    If the memorys gone i doubt flashing the BIOS will do anything, RMA time id say. :(
     
  7. *FLASH*

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,953

    Location: Caerphilly, South Wales

  8. *FLASH*

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,953

    Location: Caerphilly, South Wales

    yup does it from post
     
  9. tickle me elmo

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Nov 2005

    Posts: 362

    RMA
     
  10. Stellios

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Aug 2004

    Posts: 17,023

    Location: Geordieland

    Yep, if its still under warranty its an RMA job, but if its out of warranty you need a new card im afriad.

    You could try lowering the clocks speeds below stock to see if that does anything, but its unlikely.
     
  11. *FLASH*

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,953

    Location: Caerphilly, South Wales


    damn stupid warranties for AOpen they last 12 months from manufacturers date. So even if its sat in a shop for 6 months you only covered for 6 months?
     
  12. Stellios

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Aug 2004

    Posts: 17,023

    Location: Geordieland

    They shoudnt, they should last 12 months from the day of purchase.
     
  13. *FLASH*

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,953

    Location: Caerphilly, South Wales


    Its out of that anyways :(

    I know this might sound a silly question as Im no graphics wizard but can I flash the bios of anotehr similar card to this i.e. this is a AOpen can I flash a Gainward 6800 to it?

    Still cant believe thye havent got a blooming bios for this though!
     
  14. roger-melly

    Associate

    Joined: 14 May 2006

    Posts: 15

    bios is unlikely to fix it, if its artifacting then its 99.9% broke
     
  15. dalex

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 810

    Location: gatesheed(gods country)

    it could be overheating , can you monitor the temperature ??
    if its a heat issue you may need to remove the hsf and clean the paste from the gpu and hsf and then reapply new thermal grease , make sure it is properly seated onto gpu and try again,try firm pressure when reseating hsf
    dave
     
  16. kidloco

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,924

    Location: Lancashire

    as mentioned above, you card does sound borked to be honest. but if its out of warranty then anything has to be worth a try.

    Try stripping off the heatsink, clean all the gunk off and re apply some thermal compound. re seat the heatsink and see how that goes.

    if that still doesnt work then by all means try flashing with another make of card as long as its the same card it shouldnt be a problem. I flashed my 6800GT with a leadtek bios and it worked
     
  17. *FLASH*

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,953

    Location: Caerphilly, South Wales

    Im having a few problesm removing the stock heatsink and fan

    the four plastic springloaded legs come off but it wont budge its as if its stuck on

    any clues?
     
  18. Mikebert4

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Apr 2006

    Posts: 224

    Location: Peterborough, UK

    It probally is stuck on then... if it's a year old the thermal gunk that came with the stock cooler will be rock-solid, try and get some alochol-based cleaners in there and see if that shifts it...

    If not a bit of brute force and ignorance will help (with some degree of care though)

    try shoving some Arctic Silver under it and putting it back on, this might lower temps some....

    given what you've said so far though, i'm guessing an RMA or new card is likely :( .
     
  19. FreeStream

    Capodecina

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,373

    Mike ** sig is too big, 4 lines of text max, perhaps read the rules ;)

    Anyway, I agree that the mems had it :( BIOS flashing wont help.

    Unless its overheating...
     
  20. gtir666

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Feb 2006

    Posts: 273

    Location: Newbury

    I flashed my bily bogo 6800 with an xfx ultra bios, then used riva tuner to unlock a quad and an extra vertex, then overclocked mem to 1250mhz, and amazingly it still worked but hell did it get hot!(flashed it back to standard bios now) but still works fine which is the point, so i think it a bit poor that acard fails after year with no abuse, and my soul purpose is to kill my card but it wont have it and keeps going a bit wierd.

    Anyways if you want gfx bios go to mvtech.net, get nbititor and change baord id to your own and bobs your uncle. Make sure you back up your bios before try flashing with another though!