1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

6800gs strange 3Dmark scores and don't know why?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by JDL, 15 Jan 2006.

  1. JDL

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lincoln, The Shire

    i've fiddled with my cpu and ram and though it time to fiddle with the old GFX card.

    i have a 6800gs on a a8n-sli deluxe mobo and [email protected]

    stock score = 5704
    core: 485 mem freq: 1.1

    so i installed coolbits and began moving the sliders (in 3d performance only)

    i started to get strange scores from here on

    500/1.14: 5690 (a decrease)
    505/1.14: 6120 (looking better this is using the optimum setting)
    524/1.2: 6120 (does dropping the mem make that much of a difference even though the core is 20mhz higher?)

    just wondered if anyone can explain why i'm getting these scores?

    thanks in advance?
     
    Last edited: 15 Jan 2006
  2. Metalface Mark

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Dec 2005

    Posts: 15,351

    Location: Paisley

    Might be throttling.
     
  3. JDL

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lincoln, The Shire

    eh throttling?

    don't know what that means...... :confused: <puts on NOOB hat and stands in corner>
     
  4. SpudMaster

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,060

    Location: blackburn

    means the core is getting too hot so the speed is being decreased to try and help it cool down. What temps are you getting under load?
     
  5. JDL

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lincoln, The Shire

    temps are 50c max running 3Dmark05 thats with a zalman cu700 on it
     
  6. Johnnyboy

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Sep 2003

    Posts: 329

    Could be that your CPU and/or memory are the bottleck. What spec are they?

    Could be your CPU that is throttling. What temps under load?

    [J]
     
  7. Metalface Mark

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Dec 2005

    Posts: 15,351

    Location: Paisley

    i get just over 6000 on 05 with a 3ghz p4 @ stock speed and clocks of 505/1.2, cpu speed dosent speed to make much difference with this card.
     
  8. JDL

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lincoln, The Shire

    i've been informed and told by people on here that this card is good clocker.
    what is more important the core speed or the mem. frequency. would i be better having a higher core or higher mem. freq. ?
     
  9. JDL

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lincoln, The Shire

    johnny, got a zalman 9500 position directly infornt of my exhaust with a 90mm blowing cool air on to the top of the zalmans copper 'flower' temps don't exceed 44 (prime95 running for 1h 45m)
     
  10. Metalface Mark

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Dec 2005

    Posts: 15,351

    Location: Paisley

    cores more important, i put my mem up from 1200 - 1250 and it dosent make much different, about 40 3dmarks.
     
  11. JDL

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lincoln, The Shire

    cheers guys gonna have another play now,

    i'm right by thinking:
    artifacts --> lower mem?
    sparkles --> lower core?
     
  12. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Throttling can happen regardless of what the temperature is, it is throttling when the core does not get enough voltage to run at the overclocked setting, the only way to stop that is to mod the BIOS with a higher GPU voltage.

    What you can do however is enable adjustment of the low power 3D mode in Rivatuner, that way when the card throttles it throttles to the low power 3D setting, if you set that to the same speed it will continue to run overclocked.
     
  13. JDL

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lincoln, The Shire

    is that safe to do?

    i've done a few more tests and it seems the best core/ mem config i've got to is just over 6000marks and thats 505/1.1 with i run 520/1.5 i get just 6120. will have a look at that rivatuner proggy and let you know how it has gone.

    cheers
     
  14. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Yes (relatively)

    As long as you keep a close eye on the screen for sparklies or artifacts, as soon as you see them lower the overclock.
     
  15. JDL

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lincoln, The Shire

    do sparlies and artifacting eventaully damage the card then?

    i've got rivatuner now and tick the box you suggested however i don't know how to apply these settings!!!???

    anybody?

    cheers
     
  16. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Yes, I think it's safe to say that the card/core will be damaged if you keep running.

    I think for low-power 3D mode to be changeable you need to enable it in the extra settings or power settings (I am at work now so can't remember the name)