1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

7800gt OC question

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by David230, 26 Feb 2006.

  1. David230

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 723

    7800gt OC problem

    Hi,

    I overclocked my gigabyte 7800GT to run 3dmark 05 running core clock speed of 475mhz and mem @ 1175mhz and the demo performed smoothly.

    I then tried to play GTL at the same speeds and it causes problems with the scenary breaking up and jittering every few seconds. I even tried a milder overclock but the problem still occured until I put back to stock.

    I'm gonna try HL2 quickly to see what happens with that.
     
    Last edited: 26 Feb 2006
  2. David230

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 723

    Just tried FEAR and the problem is similar to GTL. Textures breaking and flickering on characters, walls etc.

    I'm sticking with stock unless someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong.
     
  3. David230

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 723

    Is there restrictions with the standard bios?
     
  4. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,605

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    You're just starting too high, try 450/1130.
     
  5. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 18,958

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    475/1175 should'nt be a problem. My pair goes up to 502/1.24 with no problems at all. I know they are BFG O/C's but they have the same gpu and are just clocked higher out of the box.

    By GTL i presume you mean GT Legends. If so then maybe it is like GTR and does'nt like overclocked pc's. I have had a nightmare with GTR because i was overclocked and had to drop everything back to stock. Don't know about FEAR though.
     
  6. David230

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 723

    Yes, its GT Legends. I can keep the mem speed higher (1175mhz -1.2g) but core needs to be lowered (440) before I clear all artifacts etc in gtl.

    I run @ 1280x1024 and max everything. Most of the time GTL plays smooth at standard but oc'd the game does seem even more realistic with the extra fps it gives.
     
    Last edited: 26 Feb 2006
  7. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,605

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    You can't generalise though, some dont do 450MHz core, all cards are different.
     
    Last edited: 26 Feb 2006
  8. Jack Bauer

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,675

    Location: Oxford

    Give atitools a go see what overclock that gives you. I think its normaly a bit lower than whats stable in game but should give you an idea
     
  9. David230

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 723

    Is Atitools something that can be used with nvidia stuff(scratches head)? If its fine for testing out my card do you have a link for it?

    cheers
     
  10. Jack Bauer

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,675

    Location: Oxford

    Yer its fine for both. Will scan for artifacts for you. www.guru3d.com you will find it there.