1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

7800GTX standard Overclock?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by sugoi, 15 Jan 2006.

  1. sugoi

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jun 2005

    Posts: 474

    Location: Sussex, UK

    I have a standard 7800GTX 256MB... and i was wondering what max overclock do you reckon i could get on AIR, stock is at 430/1200... :confused:
     
  2. Insanity

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,747

    Location: Tasmania (Australia)

    Impossible to say, its hit and miss. But i clocked mine to EE speeds and left it at that (490/1.30). It seems happy enough.
     
  3. sugoi

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jun 2005

    Posts: 474

    Location: Sussex, UK

    and is that with air? what are your temps on idle and load (possibly gaming)?
     
  4. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,634

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    I managed to hit just under EE speeds with mine with the stock cooler. You'll see artifacts and corruption before temps become a "real" issue, so I wouldn't worry... :)
     
  5. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 21,395

    I say set it to 450/1250 and then work up from there..

    The core should top out somewhere between 470 to 495 on most..
    You should see between 1325 to 1385 max on the memory..
     
    Last edited: 15 Jan 2006
  6. sugoi

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jun 2005

    Posts: 474

    Location: Sussex, UK

    thnx, i did get 470/1250 ... but after installing the new nvidia drivers, it resetted the clocks...
     
  7. Duff-Man

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Jun 2004

    Posts: 10,959

    Location: Nottingham

    Yes - the overclock is done through drivers...

    If you want it to keep the clock settings between driver installs you will need to flash the bios.
     
  8. sugoi

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jun 2005

    Posts: 474

    Location: Sussex, UK

    at stock 430/1200, my 7800GTX got 7797 3DMark05

    and at 490/1300, it got 8728.... does that seem right?
    system is in sig... no artifacts or corruption...as far as i can see..
     
  9. andyp

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 1,628

    Location: South Yorkshire

    got my leadtek the week the gtx's came out.

    it'll clock to 472/1300 on standard cooler.

    8,261 '05 marks with a 3700 clawhammer @ 2.75ghz
     
  10. pegasus1

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 5,015

    Location: UK PLC

    510/1.37 on my Leadtek using coolbits, coolbits is a little restrictive as i think i could go a fair bit higher.
    I removed both the core and mem cooling and replaced the horrid conductive pads with AS5 and the temps at idle are 36-39C depending on room temp (39C atm and im comfy in a tshirt), no sign of artifacts in 3d2005 or COD2.
    I may lap the HS as its far from smooth.
     
  11. Arcane

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Aug 2005

    Posts: 3,644

    Location: Ealing, London

    492/1300 is the highest I've managed, keep it at 480 though.
     
  12. pegasus1

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 5,015

    Location: UK PLC

    510 and 1.37 with zero artifacts.
     
  13. ScarySquirrel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 23,546

    Location: South East

    490/1350 on mine, runs fine in everything, never had any probs, coolbits wont let me go higher
     
  14. pegasus1

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 5,015

    Location: UK PLC

    Was that on auto detect or manually, auto detect gives me slightly less than that and manually it it allowed me 505/1.35.
    Thats a fair bit higher than before i replaced the thermal pads.
     
  15. Mundu

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: SGC

    I can get my POV 7800GTX to 490/1300. It can only go a few MHz more before it gets errors in ATI Tool.

    It does get pretty toasty though very near 80C under load but the cooler is stock and extremely quiet. Does anyone think a better cooler would get me a worthwhile increase from my 490/1300?
     
  16. sugoi

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jun 2005

    Posts: 474

    Location: Sussex, UK

    hmm, i have droppped it to 450/1250 now...
    seems to me, shown artifacts in CS: Source, missing graphics and stuff....?
     
  17. KillBoY_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 4,114

    Location: Oxford

    i say about 80%+ can (i can get my POV to) 493/1301 in my small case (stock or AC cooler) leave the window open to let the cold air in it do 510/1390
     
  18. sugoi

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jun 2005

    Posts: 474

    Location: Sussex, UK

    i used 3dMark05 to benchmark it at 490/1300... and got no artifacts or corruption...

    hmm, but in CS:Source, i see blocks of mismatched textures.... anyone else get this?
     
  19. Fat Dog

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Jun 2003

    Posts: 395

    495/1300 with an Arctic Cooler here (the stock cooler allowed almost as high overclocks, much to my surprise and disappointment).