1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

802.11ac NIC's

Discussion in 'Apple Hardware' started by Lorddalron, 1 May 2013.

  1. Lorddalron

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Mar 2012

    Posts: 484

    Location: Northern Ireland

    Was just wondering, when Apple start to introduce these particular NIC's into their MBP's, will it something could be upgraded either at home or via apple store. I would be looking to do so on my 2012 if possible (non retina)
     
  2. kitkat9933

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Aug 2012

    Posts: 3,534

    Location: North West

    Nope, you will have to buy a newer model to access the feature.
     
  3. hyper_piper45

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Oct 2003

    Posts: 2,706

    Location: Leicester

    Nailed it.
     
  4. Lorddalron

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Mar 2012

    Posts: 484

    Location: Northern Ireland

    Shame, thanks for the replies guys.
     
  5. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,139

    Chances are to do 802.11ac properly it requires the antenna design to change. If you just swapped the NICs you'd be unlikely to see it perform to the fullest.