1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A battlefield2 thread

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by bakes0310, 5 Jun 2005.

  1. bakes0310

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Oct 2004

    Posts: 12,528

    Feel free to add anything u want about this upcoming game ill start.....

    I cant wait for this game ive already preordered it and watched lots of videos about. The action looks amazing and the team play sounds like itll actually work. But is anyone worried about the 2gb of memory needing to run it smoothly, im not too sure if thats true even though the producer of the game on a video i watched said it did need it. Also what about broadband connections anyone worried about that, i got a 1mb connection but will that be enough, i get pings of 44-87 on counterstrike source.
     
  2. teulk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,451

    Location: jarrow

    i hope i doesnt need 2gb of memory as i only have 768mb. Tbh how many people actually have 2gb............ok i know quite a few people will have but the vast majority of us wont and will prob have btwn 512 - 1gb i would have thought.
     
  3. masterk

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 5,885

    Could be a strange question, i have never played the series before, what is it about?

    First person shooter with vehicles?
     
  4. Bernard

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 907

    Location: Yorkshire

    Aye.

    Imagine ground troops sneaking up to a emplacement, being supported by heavy armour. Then imagine Helo's bringing in another wave, and all hell breaking loose.


    BF1942 was the ultimate in teambased warfare, still a damn good game.

    If BF2 gets anywhere near as close, its going to be massive.
     
  5. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,396

    Location: Neptune

    If only it was ever that exciting.
     
  6. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    I honestly can't see a game coming out that needs 2Gb of RAM when most people are only running 1Gb, there is little point. I would imagine at the most it will need 512Mb but not 2Gb not even 1Gb....its not practical to make a game at the moment that demanding.

    Stu
     
  7. DaveyD

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 12,646

    Location: Warwickshire

    Pretty much it in the basics.

    Generally capture and hold maps or some sort of variation.

    You always start as a soldier, but you can choose what type, like medic, sniper, RPG etc, then you can get in tanks, humvees, helicopters, jet fighters, gun turrets etc. You can also be the passenger / gunner in vehicles too, depending on what the vehicle can do.
     
  8. mrbios

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Jun 2003

    Posts: 15,845

    Location: Engerland

    indeed, 1942 just seemed like constant tanks after tanks, there was barely any on foot based attacks :( which is something i hope they change slightly in this one
     
  9. PieMaster

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Feb 2005

    Posts: 1,234

    Location: Docklands, London

    Vietnam allways seemed like a helicopter battle more than anything else. You could win the map by hovering above most flags, and anyone who showed some skill by sniping off people was kicked promptly.

    I hope theres a better ampasis on teamwork this time too.
     
  10. Lee2k4

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,524

    Location: Leeds, UK

    I built a new system just for BF2 about 2 weeks ago but it only has 1 gig ram

    A64 3800
    1 GIG ram
    2 Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM HDD's
    3 mbit Internet connection.

    If I have to put another stick of ram in it then I guess I better get it now.
     
  11. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    I wouldn't bother I'm pretty sure you wont need it, otherwise once the game comes out EA will have a LOT of complaints as not catering for the current crop of systems, how many main stream retailers and manufacturers are producing PC's with 2Gb of RAM....not many at all....nuff said.

    Stu
     
  12. Jabbs

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 7,719

    Location: Rugeley

    I still love 1942 but play Desertcombat mod more, so i hope BF2 is on the lines of that and ill love it, oh and i hope they not going for the naff BFV control for the helicopters, as i felt like i had achieved something learning to fly them in DC.
     
  13. SHEF

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 657

    Location: Rugby, Warwickshire

    This is what IGN have to say about it and 1GB is enough to max the game out...

     
  14. HangTime

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 25 Oct 2002

    Posts: 28,087

    Location: Hampshire

    Well, consider that to run smoothly you really need 1gig RAM for BF1942, and when that was released, quite a lot of people only had 512meg.

    I think people need to realise that just because a game isn't unplayable, doesn't mean that it wouldn't be marginally better with more RAM. I'm sure most of you will be perfectly happy running BF2 with only 1gig RAM, because you won't really notice the occasional paging that much (especially if the framerate is relatively low to start with). I mean games like Doom3 can be played with only 512meg RAM, but the peak memory usage does exceed that at times, meaning it is worth having. Same for Far Cry, in that its ok with 768meg ram but 1gig would be better.
     
  15. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,632

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    Demo should *hopefully* be out on Friday 10th June. :)

    5 days to go if its true!!
     
  16. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    I think this game is going to be a massive hit, possibly even game of the year....especially if it follows the same success that BF1942 did :D

    Closest thing to come close to this so far I think is Joint Operations which I have recently been glued to :p

    Stu
     
  17. DEL 707

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,524

    Really looking forward to it.

    I havn't actually read into any articles concerning gameplay, so if any1 has any links it would be appreciated.

    I hope they don't make the mistake they did with BF:V though and have unbalanced classes, i hate to see another "Rambo" class :eek:
     
  18. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    I second this, bought BF:V, played it twice and not touched it since....helo's are just mayhem!!

    Stu
     
  19. HighlandeR

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,077

    Location: England

    I was only jokin about 2gig needed ;) if thats where u got it from!

    yeah as above said 1gig seems fine, BF2 no doubt will be a demanding game they say the maps are on HL2 quality and all so imagine that only larger and with tons of vehicles.

    They did say the emphasis will be taken back to ground fighting but at same time the vehicles have more space so more can hop on...

    Regardless gotta wait and see what its like, I dont see it failing though!
     
  20. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    Doing a bit of googling whilst bored at work I've found what is to be the proposed system requirements.

    Only thing I know to be 100% different is that it supports up to 64 players, so if this is the minumum required spec then there will be no worries at all, maybe the so called 2Gb required also has gotten all confused with HDD space ;)

    More info found here: http://www.pro-networks.org/forum/about53225.html

    Stu