1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A battlefield2 thread

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by bakes0310, 5 Jun 2005.

  1. Cybermyk

    Soldato

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 6,850

    Location: Peoples Republik of Teesside

    I'm really pleased that they fixed that annoying "client crash after entering 300 characters into the IP address".
     
  2. Magic_x_uk

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,495

    Location: Derbyshire

    IAMMED,
    o/t but hi, im from Chesterfield, just round the corner from you.
     
  3. IamMed

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,161

    Location: Porthcawl (S.Wales)

    lol, Hi :p
     
  4. Lee2k4

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,524

    Location: Leeds, UK

    ROFL last night was hilarious was dropping jeeps on there heads on the carrier they was getting well cheesed off with me :p
     
  5. Last Kronin

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,810

    Location: Brechin

    I think the vechile drops is just a bit too much, would be better if they were taking from someplace else in the map as that would limit the amount that could be dropped.
     
  6. ichabod crane

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,195

    Location: York

    vechicle drops sucks, i had an awesome sniper spot this mornin takin out loads of poeple trying to catch a flag... and there commander with UAV drops a damn car on me!! on a roof top.
     
  7. DrEvil

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,641

    Location: Surrey, UK

    Gets a bit frustrating being killed by a jeep - but it is blinkin' funny thou :D

    It'll calm down once the novelty wears off, most will use it more constructively... well hopefully.
     
  8. Smithy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Mar 2006

    Posts: 1,519

    Anyone else have troubles installing patch 1.3?
    No matter what i do, i always get 'Patching Failed' during the installation. :mad:
     
  9. Cybermyk

    Soldato

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 6,850

    Location: Peoples Republik of Teesside

    It might be a corrupt download, I'd try downloading it again if I were you.
     
  10. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,426

    Location: Rutland

    I'm getting CTDs and sometimes my team mates have the wrong colour names :confused:
     
  11. Siders77

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 960

    Location: Yate, Bristol

    Yeah, i'm getting CTS's too.

    Not had the red/blue bug yet, apparently they fixed it though.

    Nice one EA.
     
  12. daftVader

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Feb 2006

    Posts: 171

    Location: Bournemouth

    Can anyone tell me how to confirm the version number because although I've patched to 1.3, the game says 1.1.2878-710.0 on the loading screen. Is this normal or did I stuff up the installation somehow?

    Sorry for the stupid question - just got the game so I'm not familiar with how it works.
     
  13. fullfat

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: Nottingham

    this is by far the worst exerience ive had with a patch for BF2. i did download one of the leaked versions from a link last page, may have got corrupted from the volume of people transferring etc, ill get it from the EA downloader as soon as i get my rig back together and se if its the same.
     
  14. Deliverance

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Sep 2005

    Posts: 353

    They didnt fix it, theyve said every patch they were going to fix it but essentially admitted they cant, because they cant reproduce it under test conditions. (in other words, its a serious re-write of a large chunk of code, the same as the AT/TOW missiles not firing and they cant be arsed)
     
  15. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,426

    Location: Rutland

    They can come round and use my machine, two teamkills today because of it :(
     
  16. 4T5

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 27,746

    Location: Middle of England

    I have over 900 hours logged and the red bug has only happened once about 4 months ago. I am not surprised they cannot recreate it.
    My only advise is to leave and rejoin as soon as you are aware of it.

    Personally i really wish they would speak to some actual users of the game. They have the stats and hours logged and email addys and i feel they need to speak to those who actually play the ****** game and Not to whoever they are listening to now.
    I am sick of them ****** with my game without them consulting Actual users.
    Yer yer i know they monitor forums and have a few peeps but odviously these are Not hardcore BF2 players.
     
  17. fullfat

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: Nottingham

    900 hours? you must have a sore backside!! :p
    it would be good if they took on board stuff from the high usage players instead of everyone that has a pet gripe with the game, but that would take common sense and a single care about what people want instead of just money grabbing and whining about stuff being too complex to fix. there has been some real stupid ideas put into the game with zero after thought, these additions will be took out soon enough though.
     
  18. neoboy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Mar 2004

    Posts: 12,643

    Location: UK

    Chances are they just listen to the average Joe player when it comes to changes.
     
  19. DanMc07

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Oct 2005

    Posts: 4,041

    Does anyone find that when you change your sensitivity for your joystick with the joystick controller program, your jets/helis are ubar sensative and dip way too much.
    I mean, without the joystick program installed, i can have all my settings on 10 (for my jet) and it feels like its one 1!
    So I instlal the software crank it up say 1% and it all goes **** up. its stupid.. is there any other way I can make it more sensative, i.e with bf2 configs?
     
  20. Phil99

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,901

    Since installing this patch I've had:

    • Red/Blue tag mix up
    • AT Missiles not firing/going through vehicles
    • CTD for the first time in ages
    • Server Browser is screwed up and not selecting the server I click on

    Yet they've fixed a bug which was causing crashes when you put 300 characters in the connect to IP box so obviously this patch was worthwhile.


    /Looks forward to ET:QW release