1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

A corrected hardware error has occurred

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by linwelin, 13 Mar 2010.

  1. linwelin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,531

    Location: Belfast

    Sorry if this is in the wrong section, if so can a mod please move it to the right section.

    Ok i was just going through event viewer, and i noticed something strange

    A corrected hardware error has occurred.

    Component: AMD Northbridge
    Error Source: Machine Check Exception
    Error Type: 14
    Processor ID: 0

    i have quite allot of these warnings 10 or so, i know its only a warning but what would be causing this ?

    some more details if needed.

    - <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-WHEA-Logger" Guid="{C26C4F3C-3F66-4E99-8F8A-39405CFED220}" />
    <EventID>21</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>3</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-03-11T20:15:48.123243600Z" />
    <EventRecordID>2646</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation ActivityID="{9804B315-C1DD-4F99-8CF5-55247E6B26D0}" />
    <Execution ProcessID="1300" ThreadID="1932" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Home-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-19" />
    </System>
    - <EventData>
    <Data Name="ErrorSource">3</Data>
    <Data Name="ApicId">0</Data>
    <Data Name="MCABank">4</Data>
    <Data Name="MciStat">0x80000010000e0c0f</Data>
    <Data Name="MciAddr">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="MciMisc">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="ErrorType">14</Data>
    <Data Name="Length">928</Data>
    <Data Name="RawData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ata>
    </EventData>
    </Event>

    ---------------------------------------------

    running windows 7 pro
    AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 955 Black Edition 3.20GHz
    G.Skill Ripjaw 4GB DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit
    Asus M4A785TD-V Evo AMD 785G (Socket AM3) DDR3 Motherboard
    Corsair CX 400W ATX Power Supply
    Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5770
     
  2. Mougabi

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2007

    Posts: 31

  3. linwelin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,531

    Location: Belfast

    thanks i will have a read over that
     
  4. Uriel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7,652

    I get a corrected hardware error / machine check exception of a different sort (cache hierarchy) when I unlock my Athlon X2 5000+ to Phenom X4 FX-5000 with ACC.

    I'm pretty sure that my chip failed factory tests, which is why it didn't end up as a Phenom II in the first place. For the most part my rig is rock solid but I do occasionally get BSODs when booting (almost never in general usage or stress testing).

    Are your northbridge and CPU-NB both at stock speeds and voltages or have you tweaked them at all?
     
  5. linwelin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,531

    Location: Belfast

    everything is at stock, have only just built the pc as well its stable haven't had any BSOD just wondering if that error is going to be a problem in the future or not, as if it is i would want to get it swapped as soon as i could.

    been playing GTA4 and Battlefield bad company 2 without any problems at all, games are very smooth