1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

A P4 3.2Ghz Prescott is Equivalent to What Core2Duo?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by photoshop, 19 Mar 2008.

  1. G_Wizz

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Mar 2004

    Posts: 888


    Oh yes it is,:D

    [email protected] 3ghz = 21 seconds SPi 1m
    [email protected] 5ghz = 26 seconds, not all will do 5ghz though

    (I have had both)
     
  2. Fothsn

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2006

    Posts: 3,998

    Location: Leeds, West Yorks.

    A single core Celeron runs SPI 1m in 21s? I have an e2140 in a HTPC clocked at 3GHz and this does it in 22s, looking at a few review and benchmark sites they say a Celeron 420 is equal to around a P4 630 3.0GHz.


    What are these chips like for temp? :) They seem good value for money do the new celerons.
     
    Last edited: 20 Mar 2008
  3. G_Wizz

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Mar 2004

    Posts: 888

    I have had a 2140 aswell, really the 420 is just a single core 2140, since SPi uses 1 core the celeron gives same time more or less at same speed. Depending on apps though the P4 will do better in some cases than the celeron due to HT. The temps vary greatly from chip to chip, the 420 was about 30, but that was using Asus probe since TAT doesn't work with the Cel.
     
  4. Emlyn_Dewar

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Oct 2003

    Posts: 12,832

    Location: Chengdu

    I thought we'd learned to stop using SuperPi to compare chips, it doesn't really give an indication of real world performance at all.
     
  5. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,702

    Location: Wiltshire

    But its the best game ever :eek:
     
  6. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,634

    Location: Surrey

    you realise you're comparing brand new silicone to something probably 3 years old?

    hardly suprising it gets whooped really is it, I'd be a bit miffed if it didn't! Like, WTF are you boffins doing? Eating crisps and watching lost?
     
  7. pointy shadow

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Dec 2002

    Posts: 782

    Location: Beyond the Ultraworld...

    Same upgrade here m8.

    The only "real" difference I see is when encoding video and multitasking.
     
  8. Tute

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Jul 2004

    Posts: 22,361

    Location: Devon, UK

    Nobody would take a P4 over a C2D but at least give the guy the whole picture and not a cherry picked benchmark.

    Some of the games ones are a lot closer, for example.
     
  9. psycodelicmonti

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Feb 2008

    Posts: 25

    90c?!! Thats rediculous, I've got my 3.2Ghz Prescott @ 3.8Ghz (keep pushing it a bit more, secretly I want it to break so I have an excuse to upgrade). Anyhoo idle its about 36-38c and load 48-50c. Suerly at 90c thats got to be a fire hazzard??
     
  10. Lightnix

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Sep 2007

    Posts: 5,362

    Location: from the internet

    Yeah, if you can touch it when the chip is reaching 90C then you really want to invest in a metal heatsink. :p
     
  11. Munky1080

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Mar 2007

    Posts: 1,593

    Location: Gravesend, Kent

    I went from a P4 3Ghz Prescott to a e2160 and I have to say, personally it was night and day difference...
     
  12. Paracelsus

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jun 2007

    Posts: 782

    Location: Manchester

    To the people saying it was a huge difference - did you just change CPU, or reinstall windows at the same time?
     
  13. Fothsn

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2006

    Posts: 3,998

    Location: Leeds, West Yorks.

    If just changing the CPU on the same mobo no OS reinstall is needed, changing mobo and chipset an OS reinstall is defiantly recommended :)
     
  14. Paracelsus

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jun 2007

    Posts: 782

    Location: Manchester

    Aye, I'm just wondering if the reported big increases are from cpu change only, no other factors ;)
     
  15. Fothsn

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2006

    Posts: 3,998

    Location: Leeds, West Yorks.

    Oh sorry, read to me as you are asking for advice :D:D
     
  16. IAmATeaf

    Soldato

    Joined: 3 Apr 2007

    Posts: 7,158

    Location: South of the Watford Gap!

    I just swapped out the CPU, reset the BIOS to defaults, then set the BIOS up again and then booted up into XP.