1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A8N-SLI PREMIUM + XFX 7800GT

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Sticky-Ring, 23 Jan 2006.

  1. Sticky-Ring

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Jan 2005

    Posts: 72

    Hi all, i built a new pc over crimbo with the above bits in it and it has been working great up intill last night. When viewing pics over the net i started getting blue lines on all the pictures which i hadnt noticed before,then i turned the pc on and it came up with vga error and the screen wouldnt turn on. i have tried lots of things and the only way i can get it to work is if i put the xfx card in the second (black) PCI-e slot. i recently installed my audigy soundcard but dont think that has anything to do with it as it still didnt work when i took it out, Please help :(
     
  2. noxidjkram@hotm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,447

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    Sounds like a PCI-e slot failure on the mobo.

    M
     
  3. TonyM16

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Jan 2006

    Posts: 81

    I have got the same thing wrong with my mobo. I can only use the black lane , as the blue lane shows no picture, although I can quite clearly hear everything booting up. I thought It happened because of something I did, as I was having frequent ventures inside my case, and also my cases PCi retention clip was a useless plastic thing which would let my card move in when ever I had to pull out or put in a dvi lead. Maybe this is a common fault? Did you venture inside your case aswell, any time before it happened?Let me know if you find a fix , aswell (Other than RMA ;) )
     
  4. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,662

    Location: London

    I got he same mobo but everything is working sweet. I'm using a Radeon X850XT in the Blue PCI-Express slot.

    Get the case open and have a good peek inside, check all the fittings and make sure everything is securely screwed down. Don't be in a rush to change this and that, just adjust one thing at a time and see how you go.

    Not sure what it could be from the info you have given? Is there a chance you may be getting some sort of IRQ conflict?
     
  5. Sticky-Ring

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Jan 2005

    Posts: 72

    if it was an irq problem why did it work for three weeks fine? i was just about to rma the graphics card but not to sure weather its the motherboard now i dont want to rma the moterboard as i just broke off the stupid white clip that holds the graphics card in. not a good day. when the card is in the blue slot everything lights up and the fans spin like normal there is just no signal to the monitor. i was also getting strange corruption and artifacts the last time i played BF2.
     
  6. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,662

    Location: London

    Hi,

    well just trying to sus out whats up. By inserting a PCI card it is *possible* that the IRQs shuffled around a little and led to your issues, but you would think that would sort itself out once u removed the PCI card again?

    One bit of advice I can give u when trouble-shooting these annoying problems is to stay *cool* and don't let yourself get wound up, because as you have already found out its easy to start snapping things off the motherboard etc.

    I can't see anything obviously wrong, I normally would have thought the card was a bit feeked but u say it works fine in the other slots?

    If all else fails it may be time to do a CMOS reset?
     
  7. Sticky-Ring

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Jan 2005

    Posts: 72

    Tried a cmos reset twice already and nothing has changed, i told overclockers what the problems i was getting ( by email ) and they sent me an rma number for the graphics card only so i assumed they have had the problem before. is there any way i can test the MB without another card?