1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a8n32-sli deluxe, molex connector?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by ]MadBoy[, 29 Jan 2006.

  1. ]MadBoy[

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 449

    Location: Gloucestershire

    do i have to plug a four pin molex connector into the Mobo, as there is a slot for one on the mobo, just wondered if I need to use it? Mobo manual doesnt say an awfull lot about it? What happens if you dont? Any performance decrease/increase?
     
  2. casw1000

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Jan 2006

    Posts: 90

    The manual says "When using two graphics cards without auxiliary power plugs do not forget to connect a 4 pin ATX power plug to the EZ Plug, otherwise the system will be unstable. Page 2-29.

    Hope this helps, as I have a bigger problem with this motherboard.

    -casw1000
     
  3. Coolasmoo

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,362

    Location: Mars

    I think you have to if running in Sli,

    But i just put one in there anyway,
     
  4. badbob

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 27 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7,298

    A friend setup a non graphics intensive office machine and it still required the additional power plugs. I don't think you can do any harm pluggin them all in anyway?
     
  5. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,662

    Location: London

    I have the ASUS A8N-SLI Premium with a single ATI graphics card and I do not have the molex connector plugged in.

    It seems to be for running a pair of SLI cards, maybe even cards that do not have their own built in power plugs?
     
  6. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Cant hurt plugging it in.
     
  7. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,662

    Location: London

    Same as for leaving it unplugged, also less cable clutter. .
     
  8. ]MadBoy[

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 449

    Location: Gloucestershire

    man!! just tidied up my case, without the allowance for that plug :p
     
  9. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Well, I have the CPU fan and 3.5' power on the same strand of cable (with my Enermax and DFI Ultra-D), but fair enough.
     
  10. w3bbo

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 10,663

    Location: Up North

    Without it plugged in my 7800GTX512mb runs fine overclocked to 610/1800. As stated it is there for SLI systems. Tried it plugged in and it made no difference whatsoever to either clocks or stability. If your only using one card I would leave it out.
     
  11. merlin2k6

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Jan 2006

    Posts: 72

    Location: T, T, Teesider

    running 4200 x2, 7800gt, no molex to the board, and no issues, its got to be for sli..?
     
  12. w3bbo

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 10,663

    Location: Up North

    Thats what the mobo manual says ;)