Absolute novice looking for direction

Associate
So... Did my cbt 6 years ago and its obviously lapsed so I've decided to do my full bike test as it's something that's been in the back of my mind for years and years. Got my theory test booked in October, DAS course booked for December.

Now , I know nothing... And I mean nothing about bikes, I don't understand the letters cbr/vtr/etc, I don't know what kind of bike I like, whether I need 600cc or 1000cc. Is 3 grand enough to spend on a first (second) bike?

Can anyone advise or provide any resource where I can learn.

Thanks

Soldato
Suppose the best place to start is to work out which kind of bike appeals to you. Personally I've always loved sports bikes so for me it was quite easy as I knew exactly what I wanted before I had even sat on a seat!

I've had a 600cc from my first day of riding and while I would like to go up and get my dream bike which would be 1000cc I don't think I actually need that in my life just yet... plus I don't have a garage and wouldn't want to put my pride and joy out on the main road!

Associate
OP
I have a garage so it will definitely go in there. Is a 1000cc a lot faster/heavier/scary than a 600?
I'm not really into the really sporty looking bikes, maybe either the chopper style or something without all the plastic.

Soldato
I have a garage so it will definitely go in there. Is a 1000cc a lot faster/heavier/scary than a 600?
I'm not really into the really sporty looking bikes, maybe either the chopper style or something without all the plastic.

Faster - Potentially, if nothing else it should have more torque.
Heavier - Most likely but it depends on the bike you get. I expect a 1000 spots bike would be lighter than something 600/750 but a bit more hefty.
Scarier? Well that depends on yourself and how you cope with speed at your disposal. If you're riding a 1000 but only at 30mph I'm sure a 125 could be scarier!

Caporegime