1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Access Point as a Signal Booster???

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by chimaera, 1 Feb 2006.

  1. chimaera

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,511

    Location: Houston, TX

    I have a 3com combined wireless modem/router, but due to the number of walls in my house i could do with something to boost the signal to the other half of the building.

    Theres an access point in the mm which is the same make/range as my router, would this act as a pass through/signal booster from the net connection broadcasted by my router?
     
  2. T180985

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Aug 2005

    Posts: 230

    you may be able to set the AP up as a repeater if you can that will help improve signal stength
     
  3. errata

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,881

    Get the manual for the ap and see if its has any wireless repeater or distribution modes (WDS) 3com probably does WDS on the AP less likley on the router.
     
  4. fluiduk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,567

    Location: Manchester

    I have a 3com access point and it doesnt support it. So definitely worth getting you mitts on the manual before you buy anything
     
  5. chimaera

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,511

    Location: Houston, TX

    Ok thanks guys, i'll give it a look.
     
  6. Angelos_n

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Jul 2005

    Posts: 784

    Location: London

    i have a netgear me 102 upstairs and a belkin wireless router downstairs and you can activate wireless bridging on router and the access point increases range
     
  7. Clarkey

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,145

    FWIW, I have a dlink AP2000+ WAP at home and that does have a repeater mode on it.