1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Acer 19" Weird shadows -ghosting

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by moles, 14 Jan 2006.

  1. moles

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 296

    Location: U.K

    I've just got my self a widescreen acer 19" AL1916W. Its a beautiful monitor and all my games are just amazing on it not to mention the xbox 360!!! Anyway, the problem i am having is when i'm in windows there is "static" ghosting if that makes sense. I have no ghosting problems with moving images but there are always "shadows" behind things. Tried to take a photo of it but my camera is not having it. Like my cursor has about 4 very faint copies of itself shadowing behind it. Everything has this slight shadow. I'm running the monitor on a ATI asus x800xt and running the monitor at the recommended resolution which is 1440x900.... Anybody have any idea what i can do to make the shadows go away?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Chaapa'ai

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 May 2004

    Posts: 524

    Location: The US of A

    DVI is in use, correct?
     
  3. moles

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 296

    Location: U.K

    Dont have DVI just analogue
     
  4. moles

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 296

    Location: U.K

    Nobody have any ideas?
     
  5. smsmasters

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,194

    Location: Planet Earth, soon Mars.

    Have you tried to manually adjust phase control?
     
  6. smsmasters

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,194

    Location: Planet Earth, soon Mars.

    Is it just the cursor that has shadows or is it everything?
     
  7. moles

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 296

    Location: U.K

    it seems to be everything... what is phase control?
     
  8. smsmasters

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,194

    Location: Planet Earth, soon Mars.

  9. moles

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 296

    Location: U.K

    hmmm everthing seems to check out as far as those tests go. Wonder what it could be?
     
  10. moles

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 296

    Location: U.K

    guess i'll just fiddle about with settings
     
  11. nomadpete

    Associate

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 32

    Location: Essex

    used to get this on an old crt - in games were fine, desktop was shocking. would you believe - was down to a dodgy vga cable. never seen it on my lcd though - probably as i switched to DVI.

    try unplugging everything, straighten all the leads, check the pins etc.
     
  12. moles

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 296

    Location: U.K

    cool thing! I'll try that when i get home. Thanks mate!
     
  13. Carter

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Nov 2002

    Posts: 3,105

    Location: North Yorkshire

    I've seen this before, it was a poor quality vga cable.
     
  14. ACPCUP

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,165

    Location: Up A Tree

    What about the wrong settings? Refresh etc? Would that cause that?
     
  15. bigjonnyauk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 May 2004

    Posts: 2,279

    you havent got the shadows turned on in the settings have ya daft as it sounds but u never know lol
     
  16. Slyman

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 336

    Location: Stroud

    I had this on my 22" crt and that was down to a dodgy VGA cable.
     
  17. moles

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 296

    Location: U.K

    turns out it was the switch box i was using so that i can play xbox 360 and use the pc through same tft. Plugged it in directly and its crisp! Anyone got any ideas for a better solution than the switch box i'm using? its a standard data switch box from ******.
     
  18. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 18,623

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    a proper vga box maybe? this is the only reason where you would have been better off getting the viewsonic :(
     
  19. moles

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 296

    Location: U.K

    a proper vga box. Name one :)
     
  20. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 18,623

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    vga box+? or a 4 port vga 350hz box?


    to be honest, they dont have names. google is your friend since you know i cant link to competitors who stock them.