1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Acer 8ms Widescreen AL1916W 19"

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by DaveBennett, 6 Mar 2006.

  1. DaveBennett

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Jun 2005

    Posts: 635

    Location: Sunny Brighton

    Hey,

    I am thinking of ordering one of these in the near future. Have any of you lot got them, what they like, good picture etc?

    Also, pics would be nice as I cant find many high res ones.

    Thanks,

    Dave
     
  2. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,119

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    Cant fault it is a fantatic monitor for the price.. :d:d

    [​IMG]

    BUY IT!!!
     
  3. DaveBennett

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Jun 2005

    Posts: 635

    Location: Sunny Brighton

    Damn thats nice.

    What are the width and high dimensions (inch or cm w/e).

    Dave
     
  4. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,119

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    Dimensions

    Yea everything looks better in widescreen too... :D

    37CM TALL
    45CM WIDE
    6CM DEEP (pannel)
    18CM DEEP (footspace. stand)
    20CM WIDE (footspace, stand)
     
  5. quadboi

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,606

    I will be picking one up in the near future.. :D ;) I think it WILL be worth it from the numerous reviews.. read
     
  6. DaveBennett

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Jun 2005

    Posts: 635

    Location: Sunny Brighton

    Man they look ***.

    Any more feedback or pics would be apprechiated.
     
  7. danderson

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Jan 2006

    Posts: 68

    Dave,

    Here's my setup.

    Hopefully this will convince you.

    Click Me

    If you're still unsure, Click Me Again

    ;)
     
    Last edited: 6 Mar 2006
  8. Gezzard

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,259

    Location: Gillingham, Kent!

    I bought one over the weekend (£177.43p delivered) Parcelforce delivered it today, I'm impressed with it so far, I was reluctant to open it at first dreading the cursed dead pixels, but was relieved when turned it on and found it had none.

    First thing was to find a decent wallpaper. I'm now going to try and play BF2 for a few hours and maybe some HL2 as well. Browsing theses forums seems a little weird as its all stretched sideways, but I guess I'll get used to it.

    I'll report back when I've had a little play. Here are some pics I took in a hurry:-

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    For just shy of £180 I'm more than pleased.
     
  9. Camalot

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 6,633

    Location: Wolverhampton

    I decided to buy one. Soon as i got it out the box i was pretty impressed. It looks very well built. The picture is amazingly sharp and i got no dead pixels.

    The only thing is that you can not adjust the stand at all. You basically just slot the monitor into the base stand and put it on your desk. I have put a bit of card under it tho to get it how i want lol.

    I just took these for you...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. fish99

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 5,055

    Location: Doncaster

    Sweet piccies Sm0kin and Camalot :)
     
  11. AMDPower

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,644

    i got one of these arriving tomorrow for my sis.

    will let you all know how it is. :)

    @camalot

    where did you get that background?
     
  12. Camalot

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 6,633

    Location: Wolverhampton

    :)
     
    Last edited: 9 Mar 2006
  13. tbz_ck

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,822

    Location: merseyside

    Do Acer do one with DVI and VGA inputs?
     
  14. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,119

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    they dont do a 19" with dvi but the expensive 20" does
     
  15. Magic Man

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Jul 2003

    Posts: 574

    Camalot, that's the 19" yes?
     
  16. tbz_ck

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,822

    Location: merseyside

    I'll wait then till the twenties drop in price. I want to hook up PC and external TV Tuner like I do on my good old Acer 1731m
     
  17. Camalot

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 6,633

    Location: Wolverhampton

    Yeap :)
     
  18. DaveBennett

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Jun 2005

    Posts: 635

    Location: Sunny Brighton

    Im deff gona get one of these for my new build, going to probley also get the antec superlan boy case, they seem to match.
     
  19. AMDPower

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,644

    Hi guys,

    finaly got my monitor, but unfortunately i cannot seem to get it to run at the 1440x900 default resolution.

    i cant seem to find any drivers for this monitor on acers website??

    is there anything that i can do?

    but its a great monitor anyhow. :)

    @camalot

    thanks for the link :)
     
    Last edited: 9 Mar 2006
  20. Mfr

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Feb 2004

    Posts: 62

    Location: Edinburgh