Adding a graphics card

Associate
Hey guys,

I have a question regarding a system that serves a rendering purpose for 3D work in Cinema 4D + Octane Render. I currently have an RTX 2080 and would like to add an RTX 2080ti (I heard that adding the same type of card is the safest option. Personally, I'm a complete amateur with the hardware, so I'm planning to order the graphics card and get someone to install it for me.

All I wanted to do is run a check with you, more experienced guys - is installing an additional card completely safe and won't overload/overheat the PC? When I was ordering it, I asked for some space for future upgrades. Will the ti version work with the regular one fine? Which version of that card would be the best one to order and why?

I'm attaching some of my specs, let me know if any more information would be needed:

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 8GB GDDR6 Graphics Card
Processor: Intel Core i9-9900K CPU @ 3.60GHz 3.60 GHz
Ram: 32 GB
Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS PRO Motherboard

Thanks for your time :)

Antek

Associate
OP
Is there a big difference between:

MSI NVIDIA GEFORCE RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP 11G Graphics Card 11 GB GDDR6, 1545 MHz, 3x DisplayPort, HDMI, Dual Fan Cooling System
and
ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG Strix Gaming (11GB GDDR6/PCI Express 3.0/1350MHz-1560MHz/14000MHz) and could one of those be used with my setup? Thank you!

Soldato
Is your PSU capable of powering both GPUs? You should have for 750+ watts. 850 would be better. You won't get near those numberrs in normal use but they will help cope with spikes and peak loads.

While Octane rRender supports differing GPUs, if you are gaming both GPUs should be the same - preferably exactly the same - and you will need a NVlink connector of the right size. Your motherboard will require a three-slot connector.

Associate
OP