1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Adv. of Multithreading

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by ahmed5, 2 Aug 2006.

  1. ahmed5

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Aug 2006

    Posts: 22

    Hello,

    With games being multithreaded, how much of a peformance benefit would it perform?

    Thank you
     
  2. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Totally depends on the game engine in question. In about 5 years time I'd expect the gains will be upto the 70% mark. But by that time there will of course be no way to be absolute sure of that because there'll be nothing to compare the engine to ;)

    At the moment probably the best gain out of any game is around 10-15%.
     
  3. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,291

    Location: Rutland

    No one is going to be able to give you much in the way of a figure, simply because multi-threaded games are few and far between at the moment, and none really make a huge use of multithreading even then.
     
  4. AWPC

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Dec 2005

    Posts: 9,996

    Quake4 with the 1.2 or higher patch gives hyperthreaded or dual core CPUs a huge FPS boost right now. Something like 25% on HT CPUs & 87% Dual Core according to ID/Raven.
     
  5. silversurfer

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2004

    Posts: 19,238

    Location: Stanley Hotel, Colorado

    Quake 4 and oblivion are multithread Ive read.

    Have a look at this test done by anandtech on oblivion.

    http://anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2747



    Crysis is supposed to need or use dual core for extra physics processing in parallel with the normal game code, no present game really needs dual core. In answer to your question I would say at worst zero benefit and at best 30% better fps.

    http://www.incrysis.com/
     
  6. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,566

    Location: Midlands

    in theory there should be double the speed difference. but then there are overheads to consider.
     
  7. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,291

    Location: Rutland

    Provided the game is CPU limited, which is pretty rare nowadays when you start whacking on AA and AF.
     
  8. NickK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2003

    Posts: 19,079

    Games like Sims etc can easily make use of multithreading, so I'd expect these to lead the way.
     
  9. silversurfer

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2004

    Posts: 19,238

    Location: Stanley Hotel, Colorado

    [​IMG]

    None of these are single core so Iam actually not sure if the game uses that or not, probably not but definetly needs cpu power
     
    Last edited: 2 Aug 2006
  10. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 3,619

    That Anandtech article is a facinating read - I had no idea what an impact the CPU could make to games like oblivion, at decent resolutions. Nice to see Dual Core starting to have an impact - will have to go back and have another tweak fest - sure I wasn't getting the most out of my 165!
     
  11. Jakus

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,733

    I'm Still waiting to make full use of my AMD 64 bit architecture :p
     
  12. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 3,619

    Which version of windows are you running?
     
  13. Jakus

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,733

    I Thought we were Talking Games ? ,Multi threading and Dual core's and the future :confused:
     
  14. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 3,619

    We are - but you should still be ashamed if you're running a 32bit version OS on a 64bit chip :p
     
  15. Jakus

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,733

    I'll be Honest with You I naturally assumed none of my older games will run in 64bit, I know FarCry was patched for 64bit but that's about it, If You have more info please tell !

    Did try 32bit Vista and DX10 Most games seemed to work but never got around to XP64 due to the pain in the A driver support mainly ;)
     
  16. silversurfer

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2004

    Posts: 19,238

    Location: Stanley Hotel, Colorado

    Apart from larger memory access wheres the benefits of 64bit, thats the real reason its not commonly used. Why make things unnesessarily complicated
     
  17. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 3,619

    Apart from the fact that it's almost universally supported and FREE from Microsoft - can't think of any good reasons to... now wait... ;) - Have to say it was the first time I managed to get my Sata and Scsi's all to play together nicely - just feels more stable.
     
  18. drunkenmaster

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,194

    they weren't at decent resolutions, anandtech used crossfire hign end cards, 2x x1900xt's , 1600x1200 not maxed out quality is not high res for that setup, a single x1900xt in all the reviews that used one card and same res showed equal, and more than enough frames to play. which was the same in almost every game except rise of legends, where even 20fps would have felt the same as its a strategy slow game.

    the one thing i think might be great about eventually having really well made multithreaded games would be the ability to buy a very very cheap cpu which when all games are multithreaded and still have enough juice to play.
     
  19. Jakus

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,733

    XP64 is free from Microsoft ?? You got a link to that ?
     
  20. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 3,619

    Yep - let me have a dig about and I'll see if I can find it again - it's a 6 month trial thing (They're trying to woo us prior to the launch of Vapour, I mean Vista)

    It can be found Here :D

    Loved the little warning at the bottom:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 3 Aug 2006