Advice needed for novice

Associate
I'm a beginner with both 3D printing and OpenSCAD, which is so far my choice of CAD software. Hoping that this site is easier to use than both reddit and 3D printboard (with no USA/UK time zone gap as another plus).

--------------------

I started printing the top part of a box, as I'd already successfully made the larger bottom part. A few minutes later I suspected it should have been rotated 180 degs around the X-axis, or some other translation/rotation, as I doubted its stability. So I posted a query to the author:
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2938921/comments
and a similar query to 3Dprinboard, asking "Should I terminate this print?"
It included this screenshot:
CuraBeforeSliceTop.jpg

90 mins later there were no replies, not surprisingly in view of the time zone gap, and these show the print's status:

2021-04-02%2012.38.29.jpg

FailureOfTop-1.jpg

Am I right that the model should have been inverted? If so could I have done that in Cura or any other slicing app?

Terry, East Grinstead, UK

Associate
You would indeed have had much better success with that print if you selected the large flat surface to lay onto the bed, that is possible in most slicers and definitely possible in cura via the left hand buttons on the side of the main screen you can select the face that contacts the bed.

Another thing to consider with prints is that the orientation you print them in can greatly affect their physical properties - ie the weakest point is between the layers of the print so you try to ensure that loads are not directly applied in a way that they may pull the layers apart.

Associate
OP
You would indeed have had much better success with that print if you selected the large flat surface to lay onto the bed, that is possible in most slicers and definitely possible in cura via the left hand buttons on the side of the main screen you can select the face that contacts the bed.