1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on PC for 3d Rendering

Discussion in 'New to PC gaming & upgrade advice' started by Red Rooster, 5 Oct 2018.

  1. Red Rooster

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Oct 2018

    Posts: 7

    Hi all,

    I am looking to build a PC specifically for 3d rendering and it would be great if someone out there could advise me on where to start.

    I have watched and read loads of tutorials / time-lapse builds, but none of them really hit my exact needs.

    Ideally I want 8 x gpus (all GeForce 1080Tis), but would like to start with 4x and build up to the 8 when I have the cash to hand.

    My questions:

    • Is there a motherboard that actually takes 8x gpus, or do I need to split these over 2 x motherboards (sorry if that sounds stupid, but I don't know)
    • Are there PC cases that actually allow 8x gpus? The most I see is 4 in the research I have done
    • would it be sensible to explore using a mining rig cage in order to achieve the 8x gpus?

    I am not too bothered about the aesthetics of the build, I just want a sensible solution to building a PC that I can easily add gpus to when I can, but starting with 4.

    I would be very interested to hear your opinions and any links to parts you think would help me.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Jonnybmac

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,849

    Location: Brotton

    Afaik rendering is better done via professional cards not gaming. It depends if the software package uses open gl or direct x to if you need something like a quadro
     
  3. Red Rooster

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Oct 2018

    Posts: 7

    Thanks Jonnybmac,

    I will be using Octane and Cinema 4d.

    I am currently running this via my mac and have 2 x egpus that have 1080Tis in each.

    I really just want to move over to PC to stop the bottleneck I am having running the egpus through Thunderbolt cables, and also have the ability to increase the amount of 1080Tis I can use (the mac can only have max of 2 x egpus)
     
  4. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2015

    Posts: 18,141

    Thread ripper ...

    *** Links Removed ***

    And for those asking why so many GPUs...

    *** Linked Removed ***

    Currently on deal ! 2 slot solution to slap in more in a board.. be quick !

    BB CODE
    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £578.99 (includes shipping: £0.00)
    [​IMG]

    Basic nutshell, but you'll have to add another system in

    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £3,318.87 (includes shipping: £0.00)
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    That or see about a proper rendering rack​
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 6 Oct 2018
  5. Jonnybmac

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,849

    Location: Brotton

    You will probably find a quadro that specialises with rendering architecture would be better
     
  6. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2015

    Posts: 18,141

    To be honest, lower key software, consumer cards are better

    And scaling is key, specially with £600 1080ti to £2000 quadro cards with less or equal power. But of OP is using 10 bit true display then they'll have to
     
  7. Jonnybmac

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,849

    Location: Brotton

    I stand corrected
     
  8. bloodiedathame

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 11 May 2007

    Posts: 7,812

    Location: Surrey

    Have you looked into render farm costs? Rebusfarm are pretty good and support Octane from C4D.
     
  9. Red Rooster

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Oct 2018

    Posts: 7

    This is great, thank you!

    re: cooling - would stock fans be sufficient?

    re: rendering rack - you mean like an open mining cage? I was thinking about this route simply because it offered the flexibility of adding more cards when I can.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 6 Oct 2018
  10. 4K8KW10

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Sep 2017

    Posts: 8,203

    Hi,

    Yes, there are motherboards for bitcoin miners for many GPUs.

    You need some research to do, for example https://www.google.de/search?q=moth.....69i57j0l5.8088j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

    But, a system for you:

    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £3,228.31 (includes shipping: £22.50) ​
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  11. Red Rooster

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Oct 2018

    Posts: 7

    Hey,

    Yes I do use render farms from time to time, usually when I have to kick out a larger project (and the client is paying)

    I need a power-house computer locally so I can work faster.
     
  12. Red Rooster

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Oct 2018

    Posts: 7

    Thanks for this!

    Interesting setup. The only issue I think I will face is Octane only works NVIDIA video cards.
     
  13. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2015

    Posts: 18,141

    Sorry, currently operatong as a single parent with two kids until wife up and running again :/

    They wouldn't work due to PCIe lanes etc, great for mining but poor for GPU bandwidth and Nvidia you need it .

    Racks can take up to 22 cards etc but also need a big bank account !!!

    I only linked 8 core as your mainly off the GPU for rendering and the x399 platform offers you more PCIe lanes then intel for cheaper the cost.

    And as mentioned, you'll need second system to get 8 cards . But least you can split render scenes etc and the edit them together .
    Use to log into 10+ PSUs in uni 10 odd years ago ... Mission

    The case can handle 4 card, along with 9 fans !

    6 intake and 3 exhaust , but using card at the bottom slot... May need to use slim line fans.
     
  14. ethan

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Sep 2005

    Posts: 7,350

    Location: What used to be a UK

    Are you ok using the Pugetsystems link? I'm assuming they are not a direct competitor so it will be ok. I was going to post this myself given the benchmarking data they provide for customers wishing to build a rig from OCUK. Can you/we clarify with a mod given the amount of valuable data the link provides?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 6 Oct 2018
  15. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2015

    Posts: 18,141

    American based, normally into business side.
    Prob do the most non biased workstation related reviews and use programs that are only licensed to review few companies, if OCUK wanted to test a Geomapping program as they did, a UK company as exclusive rights so would be a bit hard in that regard etc.
    Plus, backing up the data with OCUK shopping list and the reason behind such list of OCUK warranty (specially pre-built) isn't minded on here :)
     
  16. ethan

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Sep 2005

    Posts: 7,350

    Location: What used to be a UK

    There's an amazing amount of current data on that site with hardware requirements for photoshop and rendering usage.
     
  17. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2015

    Posts: 18,141

    It is beastly.! OCUK might have to think about doing something like that, not sure what thwir market is for workstations but would be handy :)
     
  18. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 11,564

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Whilst the links provide lots of useful information, unfortunately OcUK do sell some professional workstations https://www.overclockers.co.uk/pc-systems/professional/graphics-and-video-workstations
     
  19. ethan

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Sep 2005

    Posts: 7,350

    Location: What used to be a UK

    Thanks for the clarification.
     
  20. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2015

    Posts: 18,141

    Only problem is they are useless at stating what for , plus Puget is US based and not UK

    Shame as now have to starting linking other forums who h isn't against the rules and they are affiliated with other resellers this taking away a potential sale :(