1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on setting up a website?

Discussion in 'HTML, Graphics & Programming' started by Ice Rich, 24 Jan 2006.

  1. Ice Rich

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,414

    Hello all,

    Ive been thinking of settings up a website to help promote business of my main job.

    How would I go about registering a domain and what sort of costs are involved.

    I have no problem with the maintence of creating the site (html side) its just getting it up and running that im confused about :)

    Thanks

    Rich
     
  2. Chaos

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,422

    To register a domain use a company like http://www.register1.net/ or http://www.123-reg.co.uk/ then get some hosting there should be a sticky with good hosting reviews, then you log into the site that created your domain and edit the setings for it to point to your hosting.
     
  3. Jotun

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,606

    Location: Liverpool

    http://www.ochostreview.co.uk/

    It costs very little, currently my host (ran by someone on these forums i believe), is £30 for 12 months (got an offer so it's 18 months though :)), which gets me 350mb webspace and 25gig bandwidth, which is enough for a modest size site i'd imagine.

    Most webhosts also register domains for you, so you don't have to bother with doing a whole lot really :)
     
  4. Beansprout

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 31 Jan 2004

    Posts: 16,312

    Location: Plymouth

  5. robjf

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,557

    Location: Derby, UK

    For the domain registration i cannot recommend registron.co.uk highly enough. Incredibly efficient service and very easy to use. The customer support is also very good, and the prices are damn cheap too, hence why i have 4 domains with them currently (i think).

    Rob
     
  6. Beansprout

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 31 Jan 2004

    Posts: 16,312

    Location: Plymouth

    Yup - and Adz is updating it to give it the ability to update domain details, child nameservers (I think) and possibly more. Probably because I bug him so much ;) :)
     
  7. robjf

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,557

    Location: Derby, UK

    Ah cool, thatll be a good thing to have, any ETA you know?

    Rob
     
  8. killsta

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,069

    Location: Around

    http://Register1.net have offered that from the start, and are cheaper ;)
     
  9. Beansprout

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 31 Jan 2004

    Posts: 16,312

    Location: Plymouth

    I have a complete API system for GTLDs, I only use Registron for .co.uk domains - and if you want to go down the price route then 1&1 are the cheapest in the UK (£1.99/year + VAT last time I checked, which is mad) but I a) hate 'em and b) want to keep all my .uk domains in one place :)

    Plus, for the sake of a few pence, I'll use a friend's services :p
     
  10. Adz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,271

    Location: Berkshire

    Plus we're a fully paid up member of Nominet, vote in the PAB elections, etc etc :).
     
  11. zetec452

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 15 Sep 2003

    Posts: 9,454

    Im glad your the not the only one :p

    I've got quite a number of domains is registron, great service.