1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aego 2.1 problem?

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by Jonesiani, 7 Oct 2009.

  1. Jonesiani

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,458

    Location: Nottingham

    Hi all i think i may have uncovered a problem with my Aego 2.1's.

    I got delivered today, a pair of Sennheiser HD650's so naturally i wanted to listen through them.

    I plug the jack into the socket on the front of the sub and get nothing.

    If i plug the headphones into the back of the soundcard everythings fine.

    Has anyone else had this problem?

    Ive had the Aegos for about a year now and this is the first time ive used the headphone socket ironically :rolleyes:
     
  2. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,442

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    I have an odd feeling that the socket on the front of the base unit isn't actually a headphone out socket but is for plugging in something like a mp3 player, could be wrong though.
     
  3. memyselfandi

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 10 Oct 2005

    Posts: 8,692

    Location: Nottingham

    I'm pretty certain Jokester is right (having made exactly the same mistake myself)
     
  4. jubei

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,914

    Yes its an input socket not out, i was just coming here to post a problem of my own but will ask it here.

    If i plug my iphone into the front port it works and i get the sound thru the speakers which is great but....it doesnt override the pc input.....it fades it, but still plays in background so i have to turn off the other source.

    Only reason i ask is that i only just set speakers up a few mins ago and had a bit of trouble with the speaker wires as they dont seem to be marked red/black for me to plug into the back of the sub, i am colorblind so may have actually missed a subtle line or something? Is there a specific way to plug them in or does it not matter with this cable?

    Lastly, i have a plantronics switch thing that a lot of people here seem to have, it lets u plug speakers/mic/headphones into it and switch between them which is ideal as the xonar shares a mic and headphone port. Was just curious as to whether i am losing any sound quality by going through this switch?

    Thanks all
     
  5. Shamrock

    Soldato

    Joined: 24 Jul 2003

    Posts: 5,661

    Location: floating down the Liffey

    Where the wires split there is a little black line on the negative bit.
     
  6. Jonesiani

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,458

    Location: Nottingham

    Ah right i had no idea it's an In socket.

    Oh well, i'll just have to plug my headphones into the sound card when i want to use them then.:(
     
  7. alexx

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 May 2006

    Posts: 787

    why not get a split line so you dont have to go reaching behind your pc everytime you can get switched ones also